• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

I have a problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Everytime I try to make a map I get really bored and think that no one will find the map fun. I am not a pro or new mapmaker but I have some good ideas and I can't put them to the map. I really do love making maps but it seems impossible. It might be terrain because that is one of my weak points but I am not sure. Anybody going/gone through this? Any suggestions?

Level 26
It's natural (at least for me) to become less and less enthusiastic about a project the longer you work on it. But then again, my attention span is notoriously short.

The best thing I can suggest is to start from small projects and move on to larger ones.
And, if all else fails, make a map that you find fun and don't worry about whether or not others will like it.

Level 12
I got the same problem. Theres like, 8 unfinished projects on my PC. I finished one so far, but i got so bored at about 50% that everything i did afterwards was pure crap and it ruined the map.

Anyway, the best thing i can suggest is that you lay off the map when you get bored, then try again in a week.

Level 11
I have only one unfinished project that I am not working on. However, I am working on a Risk map, and progress is fast. I started yesterday, and it is already slightly playable. My advice: Think the whole thing through before you begin. I had almost every part of the project done in my head BEFORE I started hammering on the mouse and keyboard. And so I have done almost every time I have finnished a map.

Ok here my tips:

1.) Map while you are bored.
2.) NEVER map without hearing music.
3.) Communicate with people while mapmaking (ICQ,MSN,IRC,ETC).
4.) Save map once each 15 minutes (BACKUP).
5.) First do terrain, then triggering AND OBJECTING.