• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

How to: Attach a Model or an Effect to a Unit?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hi, I'm kinda new to Map Making and The Hive Workshop. I read a Guide, made by Archian, about Attachments but I have a problem.
:fp: http://hiveworkshop.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7314
In the Using an Item part, I didn't really get what we had to do. Where do we have to change the ability to an item ability? The "Stats - Item Ability True" Is it in Object or Hero? I'd really like to know how so I can have a good start to make a RPG game.

Level 19
well if you want to attach something to an unit there is a very simple way to do it
first copy a item stat bonus ability like item hero stat bonus (+1 strenght)
make item ability false make target attachments the attachment number you want
open target and add models you want in a sequence then target attachment point 1 for first model you added type a point in unit like origin or overhead etc add the ability to unit and done
You wont see that ability in unit and unit will have the attachment ah also make strenght bonus 0
if you want to make it in item leave item ability with true and do same other part then add it to item

Level 9
All I do is make a trigger where when you pick up an item it creates a special effect on (point on model), set it as a variable, and then when he drops the item delete the special effect

Or you can just add the effect to the item ability itself. That way you don't need to make a variable for it.

If the item ability you're putting on the item doesn't have a spot for effects, just make a dummy ability based off any orb and set all the stats to 0.

Level 19