1. Vote on the best bounty the oceans have to offer! The poll for the 34th Modeling Contest has begun.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Awaken what lies in the heart of your swarm. The 17th Techtree Contest has arrived!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out the Staff Job Openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hive 3 Remoosed BETA - NOW LIVE. Go check it out at BETA Hive Workshop! Post your feedback in this new forum BETA Feedback.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Geosets for real-time attachment application (based on Villager model)

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by imforfun, Jul 11, 2014.

  1. imforfun

    imforfun

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Resources:
    24
    Models:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Resources:
    24
    On this thread I will both share with you some models which will make making attachments for the villager easier and I will show you how to make the dummy models yourself for ANY model you want to make an attachment for!

    First let me explain the point of these models.

    [​IMG]

    These models (which I am calling attachment Ref Models for now) are simple models that have been moved to make one of its attachment points move to the pivot point of the whole model.

    This allows you to both size a model around the attachment ref model’s geoset and at the same time correctly place it EXACTLY how you want it to be in game on the model.

    You will not have to continually upload your attachment to see if it sits right anymore on the model, which can save you time and will allow you more accuracy in your placement of the attachment.


    Now I can easily share how to make one yourself for any models you want to make attachments for!

    (all you will need is Magos War3 Model Editor and a little bit of basic knowledge about it)

    http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tools-560/war3-model-editor-62876/


    Now, start by opening up the model you wish to make an attachment ref dummy model of.

    (this step is not required at all): if you like you can delete any excess geosets on the model that might be annoying and take up space such as a corpse. For example I have removed the corpse and mining pick from the villager models I have made.


    Stap 1: select the entire model in the model editor window

    [​IMG]

    Step 2: Open the node manager and find the attachment point you would like to make an attachment for (it will be called something like Name – Ref). Right click on it and hit edit node to open a new window (edit and edit node are not the same).

    [​IMG]

    Step 3: In the new window will be some fields as well as some strings of numbers with X: Y: and Z: next to them. These are the attachment point’s translation from the pivot point of the model.

    With this window open click transformations on the top left of the model editor window and select Translation. Enter the fields into the new window and then be sure to add a – in front of the fields that don’t have one and remove the – from any fields that does have it. This is so we reverse the translation the attachment point has from the pivot point of the model hence moving the model to were the attachment point is now directly on the pivot point.

    [​IMG]

    Step 4: Hit apply and close the Edit Node window. You are now ready to save and use your model to make attachments around!!!

    [​IMG]

    I hope people will find both the models and the tutorial helpful. : )
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 11, 2014
  2. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,538
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Good job.
     
  3. Manoo

    Manoo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    216
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    Yea it is nice idea, I also used it few years ago. By the way I think u sude make this in 3ds max or Gmax and add poses (like right hand) to layers, because most of the modelers usually create attachments in 3d modeling softwares.
     
  4. Blood Raven

    Blood Raven

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Resources:
    215
    Models:
    142
    Icons:
    44
    Packs:
    7
    Skins:
    7
    Maps:
    13
    Template:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    215
    Thanks a lot, these will be very useful to me, aswell as any other attachment modelers! :)
     
  5. imforfun

    imforfun

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Resources:
    24
    Models:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Resources:
    24
    thank you

    I myself make models in Gmax, but I have to take it out once i am done anyway so I just size and position it in Magos. also I do not think you can get Warcraft 3 models into Gmax and I would have no clue how to do it in another program XD.

    TY for your comments!
     
  6. Pharaoh_

    Pharaoh_

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    7,277
    Resources:
    11
    Icons:
    3
    Skins:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    11
    I have renamed and stuck the topic.
     
  7. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,937
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    It is not really clear to me what you are doing, or how it differs from attachment points. Can you explain it better?
     
  8. imforfun

    imforfun

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Resources:
    24
    Models:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Resources:
    24
    Sure thing!

    @ Pharaoh_
    Thanks a bunch! ^_^

    @ GhostWolf :ogre_haosis:
    Ok, sure. I will try to explain it quickly and clearly.

    It is best to explain this with an example, so here is one: when you model a model around the mashes that have been moved to make a certain attachment point move to the pivot point of the model, your model will be in the exact place in game on the model as you place it on the model in the editor. For example here is a picture of the black mage hat I just made on the head ref model inside Magos.

    [​IMG]

    See how it is exactly on the head (and although one might not notice, it is placed EXACTLY on the model there as it is in game). Now, to show you the difference here is the black mage hat with the normal villager model.
    See how it is all the way by the feet? This means if I positioned it on that model it would not be in the right spot for in game attachment.

    [​IMG]

    There is an alternative way to do this which I would recommend for when you only make one attachment for a model (although this way you might find faster as it saves bits of time if you continue to make attachments for the same model, which the villager model is a great example)

    The other way you could position your model would be to just size it around the normal model you wish to attach it to in game (for example, If I made my black mage hat on the normal villager geoset which would be too high and float off the head of the villager in game) and then as shown in the tutorial open up the node of the attachment point which you are attaching it to in the editor and instead of translocate-ing the villager, translocate your attachment to affectively put it in the right spot the same way you would with the villager.

    How using these models when you continually make attachments saves you time is that instead of opening up the node manager and translocate-ing your attachments once you are done with them every time, you can just model them around the geoset which has been moved into the right position already and save yourself a few extra steps (saving a bit of time).

    I hope that was a better explanation. : )

    P.s the head attachment might not have been a great example picture to show the change in positioning since the attachment point for the head seems to be in the villagers neck lol.
     
  9. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,937
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Well, as far as I can see, you are making attachment points, except in a weird/convoluted way.
    Why not just make normal attachment points?
     
  10. imforfun

    imforfun

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Resources:
    24
    Models:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Resources:
    24
    mhm

    I'm sorry : (, I am not quite sure you understand.

    not sure if you make models or not, but I am not making attachment points, I am showing a way to quickly make a dummy unit to make it easier to make attachments for a unit (or in better words, size and position / size while positioning an attach onto a unit).

    that and I was sharing the dummy units I made for the villager which has the most attachment made for it. just so people could save some of their time : ).

    I am sure any who make attachments will understand it.
     
  11. Blood Raven

    Blood Raven

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Resources:
    215
    Models:
    142
    Icons:
    44
    Packs:
    7
    Skins:
    7
    Maps:
    13
    Template:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    215
    These models are just made so that a certain attachment point MATCHES the pivot point of the model (because in most model editors you can't see the attachment points), so you can import it into your model editor (In my case milkshape), model your attachment around it, delete the dummy model and save only the attachment without needing to scale and position it first, since it is already based on the attachment point (or the pivot point of the model, since they match) of the unit.
    Good thing milkshape can hide certain geosets, otherwise it would have been a mess to model around the villager model.
     
  12. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,937
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Ah I see, so it's just because the bad community made programs don't support attachments.
     
  13. Blood Raven

    Blood Raven

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Resources:
    215
    Models:
    142
    Icons:
    44
    Packs:
    7
    Skins:
    7
    Maps:
    13
    Template:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    215
    Don't insult the Warcraft III community, it is one of the best gaming communites there is. And thus, milkshape was not made for Warcraft III, but for all old games that allow modding, nor it was made by the Warcraft III community. Thus it is a great program if we exclude a few things.
    And in which "non-bad" modelling program (by your standards) can you see the attachment points?
     
  14. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,937
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Sorry, I should have written community-made. The programs you people are using are terrible.
    Two good and popular modeling programs are 3ds Max and Blender.
     
  15. imforfun

    imforfun

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Resources:
    24
    Models:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Resources:
    24
    : )

    I have blender but its not exactly the simplest of programs... and 3DS max is not exactly free, or cheap. one of the other best ones would be maya but that's not free or cheap either.

    there is no need to really argue though, this is only something to save the people who use the free and simple programs time.

    I still thank you for your comments ^_^, but I think this conversation can come to an end. ty
     
  16. Veritas 117

    Veritas 117

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,254
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    This is borderline necroposting, but I just want to subscribe to this thread.
     
  17. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,538
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Technically, under "Thread Tools" near the top (under the page-views), there's an option called "Subscribe to the Thread", so no need to ((arguably) necro-)post.

    But still, it's fun. :p
     
  18. Xecutor_ShamanX

    Xecutor_ShamanX

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thank God I found this thread! GLaD I won't spend another 2 days of adjusting the pivot point of my attachment models. Thanks, by the way!