• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Geki's Thread!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 16
Welcome~!

I am a total newbie in unity, and i will be "Journaling" my journeys and questions about the Unity engine here!.

So far, I have been experimenting with scripting, and managed to get my trigger collider projectile gun to work! :p.

The game i am trying to create is a third person shooter, that goes into First person shooter mode when aiming.

178651-albums6540-picture70962.png

178651-albums6540-picture70961.png

178651-albums6540-picture70967.png

178651-albums6540-picture70966.png

I added a charged function, on where the projectile and explosion get bigger as they charge.

178651-albums6540-picture70963.png

178651-albums6540-picture70964.png

I then used the explosion prefabs that i can get for free in the Unity Store.

and managed to make it work!

178651-albums6540-picture70969.png

178651-albums6540-picture70965.png

Dafuq! xD

I am pretty new to the object oriented programing, and the references has confused me a while, until today.

It took me a while to get the GUI working, and to keep the gun "Facing" the center of the camera target.

I used a raycast (My first raycast success!), shooting from the camera at its facing, to the edge of the realm. or wherever it hits first.

And get the shortest distance as the gun target, to keep the gun facing centered no matter how close or far the target is.

178651-albums6540-picture70961.png

Yes, they work both on 3rd person and First person mode.

Trying out the explosion physics, i made a wall of cubes, to test out how fluid is Unity's built in physics!.

178651-albums6540-picture70989.png