1. Find your way through the deepest dungeon in the 18th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. A brave new world lies beyond the seven seas. Join the 34th Modeling Contest today!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hive 3 Remoosed BETA - NOW LIVE. Go check it out at BETA Hive Workshop! Post your feedback in this new forum BETA Feedback.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Fixing Faulty Death / Decay Animations

Discussion in '3D Modeling Tutorials' started by General Frank, Sep 30, 2007.

  1. General Frank

    General Frank

    3D Modeling Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5,800
    Resources:
    325
    Models:
    190
    Icons:
    126
    Packs:
    7
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    325
    Fixing 'Popping back' parts of models tutorial.
    - Powered by Magos' Model Editor

    This tutorial will explain how to fix models which will stack their part on other units after death.

    Tools needed:
    - Magos Model Editor
    - MDLX Converter


    Getting Started:

    1. Convert the model with the issue with MDLX Converter to mdl format.

    NEVER EVER EDIT MODEL IN MDX FORMAT. Otherwise they screw up even more afterwards.


    Fixing the actual model:

    1. When you open your model (in mdl format !) with Magos Model Editor and you will see your model in the main window. Place the main window in the middle of your screen.

    2. Go to Windows-> Geoset Manager. Place the Geoset Manager window on the lower left of the main window mentioned above.

    3. Go to Windows-> Animation Controller. Place the Animation Controller window on the upper left of the main window mentioned above.

    4. Go to Windows-> Geoset Animation Manager. Place that window on the right of the main window.

    View attachment 13932

    5. Now play the decay bone animation with the Animation controller. You will see that some part of the model are still present in Decay Bone Animation.

    View attachment 13933

    To fix the problem you'll need to assign a geoset animation to the geoset that still shows up in all animations, but you need them to disappear in Decay Bone animation.

    6. Play a stand animation with the Animation controller.

    7. Now left-click + ctrl a part of the model of that you are sure you haven't seen in the decay bone animation, mainly the chest or something similar. You'll see that the model part (geoset) has flashed with a dark shading.

    That geoset will be marked in the Geoset animation manager.

    View attachment 13934

    8. In Geoset Animation Manager search for the Geoset Animation that is linked with the proper, disappearing in decay bone animation, geoset. Linked geosets will be shown on the lower left of the geoset animation.

    View attachment 13935

    9. In that Geoset animation window press the 'Alpha' button in the upper right corner of that small window.

    Now a a window called 'Alpha' will appear. You'll see a list with one or multiple digits which end with ....:0 or .....:1xx.

    10. Copy the whole list by using ctrl + C copy function. Close the 'Alpha' and the 'Geoset Animation', not 'Geoset Animation Manager' window.

    View attachment 13936

    To find a geoset that still unassigned with a geoset animation, play the decay bone animation, Ctrl+rightclick a still showing part (except the bones/corpse).

    11. Now create a new Geoset Animation by right-clicking in the 'Geoset Animation Manager' window on Create New. Tick the animated check box and then press alpha and enter those values you found in 9. into the list.
    Press okay in the Alpha window to save it.

    Now enter the geoset that is still unassigned in the 'Geoset ID' drop-down menu in the 'Geoset Animation' window.

    12. When you now play the decay bone animation you'll see that it is now disappeared. The geoset will not the visible in all animation except decay bone.

    View attachment 13937

    13. Repeat that method on all geoset that are still present in decay bones animation. All except the corpse geoset. Save it like [Model]_A_001.mdl or something like that.
    NEVER EVER OVERWRITE THE ORIGINAL MODEL.

    I added a model that still needs some repairs, to this thread, so that you can test this method out.

    Get it to test your skill.

    Test your result.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2012
  2. Mechanical Man

    Mechanical Man

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,384
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    30
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    39
    So there is a difference between editing in mdl or mdx in magos editor? I thought that it converts it automatically.
     
  3. General Frank

    General Frank

    3D Modeling Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5,800
    Resources:
    325
    Models:
    190
    Icons:
    126
    Packs:
    7
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    325
    if you edit and save a file in mdx format with Magos, it could occur that the attachment point and sometimes the Event Objects mess up.
     
  4. PurplePoot

    PurplePoot

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    11,161
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Why don't you just use Magos to convert between MDL and MDX? Or does the same bug occur?
     
  5. General Frank

    General Frank

    3D Modeling Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5,800
    Resources:
    325
    Models:
    190
    Icons:
    126
    Packs:
    7
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    325
    Magos can convert mdx/mdl, but it will a pain in the ass because lots of information will be lost.
     
  6. donut3.5

    donut3.5

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,389
    Resources:
    31
    Models:
    20
    Icons:
    9
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    31
    Heh, I could have used this when I was a beginner.
    Some things I would note:
    -Make sure they know not to create empty geoset animations.
    -Additionally, I think duplicate geoset animations crash WE too (2 geoset animations for one geoset)
    This is very nice and handy. +REP
    --donut3.5--
     
  7. HeretoDLstuff

    HeretoDLstuff

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,093
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    Goodjob, It seems like alot of people could use this! +Rep
     
  8. General Frank

    General Frank

    3D Modeling Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5,800
    Resources:
    325
    Models:
    190
    Icons:
    126
    Packs:
    7
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    325
    Yes indeed. Thanks for that.
     
  9. Elenai

    Elenai

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,457
    Resources:
    36
    Models:
    14
    Icons:
    22
    Resources:
    36
    Could that be why my Elven Knight is bugged? Because I edited some things while it was in mdx format?
     
  10. donut3.5

    donut3.5

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,389
    Resources:
    31
    Models:
    20
    Icons:
    9
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    31
    Hmm, it could be, but I always edit in mdx unless I'm using oinker's, so that I save space on my computer. I didn't know they bug until now.
    --donut3.5--
     
  11. Wolverabid

    Wolverabid

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    8,302
    Resources:
    5
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    5
    Outstanding tutorial, Herr General!

    I have made the following minor changes:
    1. Detached the signature file.

    2. Retitled the tutorial.

    3. Configured the images to display in their proper locations in the document.
    This week I will go over it carefully (after you make improvements based upon user input) to correct any minor grammar or spelling errors (if any are present).
     
  12. General Frank

    General Frank

    3D Modeling Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5,800
    Resources:
    325
    Models:
    190
    Icons:
    126
    Packs:
    7
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    325
    Alright, thanks.
    I was in search of a proper name and only used the previous one.
    Big thanks for fixing those attachies. Somehow they were very hard to finalize for me.
     
  13. Kaitech[SanD]

    Kaitech[SanD]

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,927
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I approve! Very good General! That orcs bracers look a lot like my ring..

    P.S. Can't forget the +rep!
     
  14. Wolverabid

    Wolverabid

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    8,302
    Resources:
    5
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    5
    Tutorial Approved!

    ~ Thread moved to 3D Modeling Tutorials.
     
  15. alcadeas

    alcadeas

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    can some one give me a tutorial wich i can make a caracter(a model)or change one(skin color,weapons...)plsss!!!
     
  16. General Frank

    General Frank

    3D Modeling Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5,800
    Resources:
    325
    Models:
    190
    Icons:
    126
    Packs:
    7
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    325
    This not the place for requests. Go to the request forum.
     
  17. NinjaDino

    NinjaDino

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    i dont get this model editing, i only build maps, i have slow internet and all model editing tools are too big, i migh mabie download 10 mb
     
  18. OlloX3

    OlloX3

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    someone help were can i edit models wich program i have war3 model editor .. like doing a own model
     
  19. Deolrin

    Deolrin

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    7,304
    Resources:
    57
    Models:
    48
    Icons:
    6
    Packs:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    57
    Thanks for that tutorial, it is totally outstanding! many people will use that or already using that, and i am one of them! also sorry for bringing an really old post back to life... +rep.
     
  20. BlinkBoy

    BlinkBoy

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,108
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    12
    Well I always do this things completely on notepad, but well GJ.