1. Are you planning to upload your awesome spell or system to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Find your way through the deepest dungeon in the 18th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. A brave new world lies beyond the seven seas. Join the 34th Modeling Contest today!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hive 3 Remoosed BETA - NOW LIVE. Go check it out at BETA Hive Workshop! Post your feedback in this new forum BETA Feedback.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Elune's Arrow v1.1

Submitted by reason 3
This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
Hero releases an arrow,hitting and stunning the first target it encounters.
The farest the enemy is more time he gets stunned.

*This spell was meant to resemle Mirana's Elune Arrow from DotA.


Changelog
-Initial Release v1.0
-Fixed an Array bug v1.1
Contents

Elune's Arrow (Map)

Reviews
Moderator
01:21, 7th Nov 2009 Hanky: Since it's basicly a cnp of a spell from DotA I can't give you much extra points for your idea. Also your solution how to reset the index is pretty messy. Well whatever for this spell it'll work so far. But apart from...
  1. 01:21, 7th Nov 2009
    Hanky:
    Since it's basicly a cnp of a spell from DotA I can't give you much extra points for your idea. Also your solution how to reset the index is pretty messy. Well whatever for this spell it'll work so far. But apart from those things the spell is fine enough to get approved.

    The spell could be useful for some users.
     
  2. Maker

    Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9,174
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    14
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    17
    It's a decent spell.

    I recommend you move this

    • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
      • If - Conditions
        • (Number of units in Arrow_StartGroup) Equal to 0
      • Then - Actions
        • Trigger - Turn off (This trigger)
      • Else - Actions


    from the end of the trigger to after you remove units from the unit group. That way it get run fewer times, but still does what it's supposed to do.

    Also make it more easily customizeable.
     
  3. reason 3

    reason 3

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    I can't tell the difference really,but since you say it...Waiting for more suggestions.And thx for commenting.
     
  4. Santa_Claus.

    Santa_Claus.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Can you put trigger in the description please?
     
  5. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,220
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Why don't you do this in vJass? It is a way more lag friendly.
     
  6. reason 3

    reason 3

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    I don't know vJass or Jass,i can only trigger in GUI.
    Right now i am working on a "meat-hook",hero throws a hook grabing and pulling the first unit it encounters close to him.*like the one pudge uses in DotA.
     
  7. Anachron

    Anachron

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6,220
    Resources:
    66
    Icons:
    49
    Packs:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Cool.
    Well, maybe I have the time to create the vJass version.
    And could you please CnP the triggers into the submittion head?
     
  8. reason 3

    reason 3

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Sure why not?I will.

    ~900 posts :D
     
  9. Hanky

    Hanky

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    353
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    4
    After 8190 casts of your spell there will appear bugs. Since as far as I can see you don't reset the arrow_count integer anywhere. Also avoid using those custom user values. Instead of it you could use hashtables what would be much better.
     
  10. reason 3

    reason 3

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Indeed bugs may appear,but using this spell 8190 times is a bit too much don't you think?Who will use it 8190 times?^^

    Hashtables would be a better solution,but i'm not very familiar with those...i will try to improve my knowledge over them and then update the spell.Thx for mentioning.
     
  11. Hanky

    Hanky

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    353
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    4
    But still that isn't a secure way.
     
  12. reason 3

    reason 3

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    So what are you suggesting?
     
  13. Hanky

    Hanky

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    353
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    4
    Use an other way of indexing? Somewhere in the tutorial section should be a something helpful for you. You can also try my template I made some time ago.
     
  14. reason 3

    reason 3

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    UPDATED!

    Now after 8192 uses of this spell,there shouldn't be any bugs.
    Thanks to Hanky for pointing that out.
     
  15. Adiktuz

    Adiktuz

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    9,674
    Resources:
    23
    Models:
    2
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    16
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    23
    Nice, made in GUI, I have downloaded one a long time ago but it is in vJASS and since I can only understand JASS and vJASS is a nosebleed for me I found it hard to edit, so I guess this one is more "user-friendly". And yeah, hashtables do great once you learn how to use them and they are not that hard to use.
     
  16. Lambdadelta

    Lambdadelta

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I have made one in vJASS, does that mean it can get approved :p
    But considering that if you know vJASS, it wouldn't be much use as you can make it yourself and this is in GUI so it is useful.

    :grin:
     
  17. Adiktuz

    Adiktuz

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    9,674
    Resources:
    23
    Models:
    2
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    16
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    23
    I guess so....
     
  18. reason 3

    reason 3

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    GUI proably is the best option for users,meaning that it is easy to understand by all.

    With Jass or vJass the spell would be lagless though and a bit better...
     
  19. wolfart

    wolfart

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I am making a "Mirana Wars" and used your spell in it (ofc I gave creds for it).
    But there is 1 problem... I tried to play it with my friend and we were shooting at each other at the very far end of the map. 1 arrow tried to move outside the map and we got "memory leak"-error. This does not happen every time you shoot outside the map, but it occurs time by time...
    (Sry if i use bad english...)