1. Head to the 33rd Modeling Contest Poll and drink to your heart's desire.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Choose your means of doom in the 17th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. A slave to two rhythms, the 22nd Terraining Contest is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The heavens smile on the old faithful. The 16th Techtree Contest has begun.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The die is cast - the 6th Melee Mapping Contest results have been announced. Onward to the Hive Cup!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The glory of the 20th Icon Contest is yours for the taking!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Dragon flying trigger

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by Foxace, Dec 17, 2013.

  1. Foxace

    Foxace

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If the movement type is foot and i set movement height then it is not really flying unit
     
  2. xAerox

    xAerox

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    370
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yes, the height wont even apply
     
  3. Foxace

    Foxace

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The morph spell works, the unit changes and the second unit has correct flying animation but it doesnt fly no matter what I set as height.
     
  4. xAerox

    xAerox

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    370
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Have you check the second unit? Check whether it is movement type is fly. Then check the "movement - height" part. if it is 0 then it will be on ground, iincrease it to make it look like it is flying.
     
  5. Foxace

    Foxace

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Units in spell settings were not the proper units and it now works.

    But when I order the unit to move to X region when morphing, it doesnt move anywhere and just keep attacking units from air.
     
  6. xAerox

    xAerox

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    370
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    okay order him to morph first, then order him to move.

    If fail, order him to morph then wait for awhile then only order him to move
     
  7. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,039
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    Morphing takes a slight bit of time, so you can't give both orders right away.
    Fixing this is a bit complicated though.
    You can either use Passive Hero Transformation. The reason this works is that it doesn't require an order to morph.
    The other option: you can add the unit to a group and periodically check whether the units in that group are still morphing(whether their current order is your morph ability)
     
  8. Foxace

    Foxace

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Morph action is before move order but doesnt work, also tried wait command in between

    How does that guide differs from crow ability what I have used now? also the normal form is the unit what its morphing to, not from and it works as intended for me. Ground mode dragon morphs into flying mode.
     
  9. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,039
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    Morphing is not instant, so it doesn't accept orders while doing that.

    Also, waits can be somewhat problematic unless you use local variables.
    I'm assuming you don't write your triggers as text, so you can't really use locals very well.
     
  10. xAerox

    xAerox

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    370
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    have u tried waiting for longer time?
     
  11. Foxace

    Foxace

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Should move order ignore hostile units?
     
  12. xAerox

    xAerox

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    370
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    it is neutral hostile? I think issue order doesnt work on neural hostile. Sry i dun understnad that sentence.
     
  13. Foxace

    Foxace

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Boss is neutral hostile and move order works because I managed to make another neutral hostile to patrol area with move commands.
     
  14. xAerox

    xAerox

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    370
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I see. Then the problem is u cant interfere with the morph command.

    When u use wait then command again, what unit u put? "Triggering Unit" doesnt work after wait. If u use "Triggering Unit" then at the top of the trigger, store the triggering unit in a variable which is later use for moving.
     
  15. Foxace

    Foxace

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Why doesnt order Deathwing to move to center of region work?

    There is no "triggering unit", it selected the unit I want to command in place of "triggering unit"
     
  16. xAerox

    xAerox

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    370
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @_@ omg, why cant it work?!! @___@
     
  17. Foxace

    Foxace

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I tested that morph and move command when there was no enemies around the boss, and the trigger works fine

    The problem is that unit stops to attack enemies and ignores the move command
     
  18. xAerox

    xAerox

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    370
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Order him to hold position but that is also ordering :< but I thought you want him to move?
     
  19. Foxace

    Foxace

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I want the boss to ignore all units and fly to region X and periodically stop to cast some spell
     
  20. xAerox

    xAerox

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    370
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    When he fly up, try not to use wait, use timer instead. Start the timer for 5 seconds, create a new trigger when the 5 seconds expired only order him to move to the location.