Diablo Builder 1.0b


mappingstatus.png

Diablo Builder


Introduction

Diablo Builder (DB) is the closest to Diablo1 you have ever seen in a WarCraft 3 map.
It contains 90% of the items, enemies and spells of the original game and lots more.
Unfortunately it was much more work than I expected, and I lost motivation and didn't finish everything.
Here is a list of what is missing, compared to Diablo1/Hellfire:

Bosses (and Diablo himself)
Monster specific AI
Difficulty Levels
Quests
An authentic tristram
Durability of Items
Catacombs, Cave and Hell level-style
Decoratives
Wirret and some other NPCs
Some monster abilities and models (e.g. goat men swinging attack, goat men archers)
Direct stairs to lvl 5,9,13
Walls with bars, doors
Traps that reduce the quality of potions
Oils

If you feel like working on any of this to improve the map just PM me.



Characters

There are 3 character classes in DB: The Warrior, rogue and sorceror.
Each must be played differently, and each has it's strengths and weaknesses.
In DB you can save your characters with all their items, spells and other stats.
The save-code can get pretty ugly if you carry many items, so try to save only what you really need (potions etc. won't be saved by default).
In single player you can use the game cache to save and just use your hero's name to load.


charactersheet.jpg




Fighting

commandcard.jpg


This is the command card. But you don't really have to use it.
Basically, you right click enemies to attack (1 click = 1 strike) and press D to hold position. Then you can attack by clicking anywhere.
Additionally there are the hotkeys Q to T (in one line) for spells.
You are allowed to put any of your spells (about 25) on any hotkey except T, which is used for staff charges.

There are many monsters waiting for you in the dark, and you will need skill and swiftness to defeat them.



Items & Inventory

inventorye.jpg

Here you see the inventory system, which is very comfortable to use.
You just hover the mouse over an item to display it's stats in the multiboard.
You click it to 'grab' and then put it somewhere (or sell it/use it) with another click on the respective icon.
You can also put items in your belt and use them directly in battle by right clicking them or pressing numbers from 1 to 0:
inventorybelt.jpg


But what items are there?
Items can have one of 3 classifications: Basic, magic and unique.
I created all normal item types there are in Diablo1/Hellfire and they can have ALL suffixes and prefixes (except durability modifiers), which creates a giant number of possible magic items for you to find.
However I took the freedom to create new uniques myself, like this one for example:
uniqueearthshaker.jpg


There is a total of 69 basic items, 163 suffixes or prefixes and 93 uniques.



Note

This map is fully playable.
There is an issue with the belt icons sometimes (after you die they somehow don't get refreshed, just open the inventory to fix it), but that's it as far as I know.

However due to the lacking of bosses and quests it is not as good as I had in mind.
So if anyone wants to help improve it feel free to PM me!
(The map is made in GUI 95%)

Type -edit to build and -play to return to your hero.
(This is also explained in the tooltips of the items your hero has)



More Screenshots


scr1m.jpg

scr2u.jpg

scr3v.jpg

scr4i.jpg

scr5.jpg

scr6l.jpg






If you want to have a look at the map or work on it scroll down to the 11th post.


Models:
.KC Villager with 40 animations
Cavman Female villager with 40 animations
Misha and 67chrome Walls
Sunchips and Kitabatake Lots of equipment
Chriz. Treasure chest
EviL_BuddhA Scroll
Vermillion Edict Rogue belt
Lord-T-Rex Rogue head band
MistAssass Maul
darkdeathknight Armor Stand
Tr!KzZ Gold Pile

Icons:
NFWar, ikillforeyou, UnholyDobry, PeeKay, -Berz-, lllLSDlll, GooS, Coinblin, CRAZYRUSSIAN.

Thanks alot guys!

Also big thanks to Jarulf and others, who made the great Diablo 1 guide providing all the data needed to create this map.

Spell icons by Blizzard.
Sounds by Blizzard.



1.0b
- Fixed a bug causing the anti-cheat system to detect cheats even though none were used and added a message telling you that you can't save anymore
- Fixed spawning of 2 arrows instead of one
- Fixed a bug preventing you from placing levers


Keywords:
Diablo, Hellfire, RPG, Inventory, Build, Builder, Dungeon, Dark, Items, Demon, Save, Load, Catacombs, Hell
Contents

Diablo Builder 1.0b (Map)

Reviews
10:46, 15th Sep 2011 Vengeancekael: Status: Approved

Moderator

M

Moderator

10:46, 15th Sep 2011
Vengeancekael:
Status: Approved
 
Level 3
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
45
I was making a same tipe of map, exactly the same way... :(((

Now there is no point in finnishing it
 
Level 7
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
339
This is really actually quite nice; anyway i can take a look at the triggers you used to set the belt buttons sorta?
 
Level 1
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
1
good work this is an excellent map i love it... one problem i just spent half an hour trying to figure out how to build or just play the friken game! i used the help buttons and and it talks about some ccons (wtf that ever could be) in the top left corner witch isnt there!?!

i know im missing some thing can some one plz point it out to me...

but overall you did a very good job!!!
 
Level 12
Joined
Sep 11, 2011
Messages
1,176
i used the help buttons and and it talks about some ccons (wtf that ever could be) in the top left corner witch isnt there!?!

the icons that he told about is the icon that we can reach by pressing f1,f2,and f3. the f1 is used for placing walls to the dungeon, the f2 is used to destroy the things that you have added and the f3 is used for placing items like chest, armor stand, etc. :grin:
 
Level 12
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
360
This is really actually quite nice; anyway i can take a look at the triggers you used to set the belt buttons sorta?

Here you go, I attached the complete map except Save/Load system and my custom uniques.
Feel free to use any systems you find, just give credit pls.
They aren't really commented though (or sometimes in German), so it might be hard to figure out what's happening.. especially since I was lazy and sometimes used global variables from other systems in cases it couldn't lead to a bug :D

@All: You can also use this version of the map to add new features, as I can put it back together in no time.

Thanks for the nice feedback, I appreciate it!
 

Attachments

  • DiabloBuilder_1.0c_distribute.w3x
    2.9 MB · Views: 297
Last edited:
Level 5
Joined
Sep 18, 2010
Messages
183
so you create your own map of diablo by the name builder? C00l i like builders, i will host this :)
 
Level 3
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
44
Looks fine, but you should fix green icons if deactivated/in pause mode by changing the path of the imported icons (black button e.g.) into custom path: ReplaceableTextures\CommandButtonsDisabled\iconname.blp
 
Level 2
Joined
Nov 20, 2010
Messages
27
first play was realy good . but i think i found a bug : you cant go back town with the stairs. you only get to the strairs to lvl 2... or i am just to stupid to build it right :/ but i tryed allready some things
 
Level 12
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
360
Looks fine, but you should fix green icons if deactivated/in pause mode by changing the path of the imported icons (black button e.g.) into custom path: ReplaceableTextures\CommandButtonsDisabled\iconname.blp

I know how it works, but I wanted to keep the filesize lower.
Since you don't look at other hero's inventories in this map you really only see them when u press F10 or something, and imo that doesn't matter.

That's odd Bloodwing.
The level in the top left corner should always be connected to the town.. which dungeons did you use/how did you connect them?
 
Level 7
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
339
http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/...rpg-hack-n-slash-dnd-style-recruiting-203518/

I'm workin on a map with an inventory similar to d2's structure. Was wondering if you could help explain a bit of how you coded some of the things in this. Cause if so then I can try to replicate it in anarchon's inventory(already sorta working on sockets; magic prefixes/suffixes, merchants, etc) and some other scripts. I'm asking mainly because it's very hard to understand your triggers cause of the massive amounts of variables; and i think you'd have an interest in my project anyway. It's like this somewhat but with closer resemblance to Diablo 2 or Diablo 3 rather than Diablo and has some interesting other features that should be great like being fully in vJASS and save-able in MULTIplayer with FULL saves that will even auto-load! Heck your definitely free to join my project if you want as well.

Whats working with the inventory so far?
Sets; charms; sell; arrows/throwing weapons; and i think i'm close on figuring how to make an merchant system

You can also contact me via skype: Switch33
 
Last edited:
Level 5
Joined
Sep 18, 2010
Messages
183
http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/...rpg-hack-n-slash-dnd-style-recruiting-203518/

I'm workin on a map with an inventory similar to d2's structure. Was wondering if you could help explain a bit of how you coded some of the things in this. Cause if so then I can try to replicate it in anarchon's inventory(already sorta working on sockets; magic prefixes/suffixes, merchants, etc) and some other scripts. I'm asking mainly because it's very hard to understand your triggers cause of the massive amounts of variables; and i think you'd have an interest in my project anyway. It's like this somewhat but with closer resemblance to Diablo 2 or Diablo 3 rather than Diablo and has some interesting other features that should be great like being fully in vJASS and save-able in MULTIplayer with FULL saves that will even auto-load! Heck your definitely free to join my project if you want as well.

Whats working with the inventory so far?
Sets; charms; sell; arrows/throwing weapons; and i think i'm close on figuring how to make an merchant system

You can also contact me via skype: Switch33
i didnt readed evry word of your message, but, if you want to ask somthing that doesnt involve reviews, the map gameplay, the map it self and any other, plz use visitor messages or via pm.
(p.s my comment is not about the map, but i hope ho ever comes here iwll read this message and understand if they want to ask somthing)
 
Level 12
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
360
Well what things do you want to have explained?
I created various trackables, saved their 'ID' and the player they 'belong' to in a hashtable (look at the custom code trigger (first in the list)) so I knew which player is clicking on which trackable.. that's it basically.
I suggest you make a new thread in the help zone if you still have questions, you can send me a link to it as PM I might have a look at it.

But before have a look at this tutorial about trackables.

This map's characters are saveable in multiplayer too btw ;-)
Don't wanna join ur project but thx for the offer.
 
Level 13
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
995

1.)The vision of the heroes,really annoying sometimes ==,also when become builder,sometimes the place have black spot,it annoying,quite black,i just suggest use vision blockers?

1.)wtf?I haven't put the lever,it say maximum already,can you fix this problem?
2.)Hmm,sometimes the object unit doesn't appear,but it say already maximum,maybe the object units invisible? wtf?
Quite Interesting,but i hate bugs = =,
 
Last edited:
Level 12
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
360
What's annoying about the heroes' vision? That walls block it? :D
When there are black spots you probably haven't set your light settings to high.
But usually this shouldn't happen since the lights are created first when you click 'finish dungeon'.

As for the bugs:
1.) You are right. I added the limitations at the very end and didn't test it with levers before I uploaded the map :/
I fixed it but I think it's too unimportant of a problem to upload a new version just for that.
2.) So this happened with other objects too, or are you still talking about the levers?
Note that multiple object types can share the same limits (e.g. the chests and the shrines etc.) and that you can't place too many objects at the same spot.
 
Level 2
Joined
Nov 20, 2010
Messages
27
ok so i am on again and just wanted to say that it was my fail in linking the dungeons. found out now^^
only 1 question : how much spells are in this version? only found firebolt , holybolt, infravision (pool), charged bolt (stuff) and heal scrolls... or are there more?
 
Level 2
Joined
Nov 20, 2010
Messages
27
i had luck and found a book of inferno^^ this answered my question allready :p
but when you make a duration of items you should also make the char skills... when i remember right warrior was able to repair stuff and mage with staffes.


also now i found a bug :
when you use a infravision shroll and saved after i used i got the message :
'You aren't allowed to save because you used a cheat code'... well i just did 2 lvl and saved befor :D but would sad when i play until lvl 14 and use infra and later i cant save befor i kill dia
 
Last edited:
Level 12
Joined
Jun 9, 2009
Messages
1,131
awzum 5/5 i loved it just from name. First i thouth it would be like other maps simple cuz of really low size and all that stuff, but then i saw that potion bar and all that... dude you're genious, idk how you binded units with triggers but for info that's epic... i'll check triggers later.
this seems dumb but well idk how to play it correctly... i created dungeon and everything i marked it as finished, used -play... and how to get in dungeon ? how to play it :O
Edit : I am really bored to watch all those triggers, could you tell me how you binded units as 1 , 2 , 3 ,4 etc without player doing it manually ? please ?
Edit 2: i found 2 bugs, first potion bar can be hidden if comming behind building or other tall building :D second disable camera rotation lock camera cause those units aren't binded to camera, try scrolling down or up you'll see them at top of screen :)
Edit 3 : How the he** you know when somebody pressed ctrl ? if you want i can tell you how to check when somebody presses 0 or ", delete" on numpad or delete , insert :) and space too
 
Level 12
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
360
So did you find out how to enter the dungeon?
There are stairs in the north of the village leading to the dungeon in the top left corner.

About the hotkeys:
First the player has to hold crtl and is forced via trigger to press 0,1,..
Then he is forced to press the numbers again and if the dummy gets selected I know that he was holding CTRL before, otherwise he didn't.
Somebody else had the idea before though :)

About the belt icons:
Them being behind something else only happens in town, no big deal and I don't wanna readjust them atm. And why would you scroll the camera in the first place.. but if I make a new version I'll have a look if it is possible to disable the rotation.
 
Level 12
Joined
Jun 9, 2009
Messages
1,131
oh :D epic :) you're one of coolest guys i've meet here, i mean map builders you're like me gui only needed to make everything epic :)
i was creating super mario map 2d i nearly finished it and i had to reinstall windows i've forget on wc3 maps i lost everything :(
Edit: i used a lot of epic stuff, i mean like slams and other things not a simple super mario :p i was working also on diablo projects and all that, but you ? you made this awzum! best map i ever played. Could i edit it ? i mean maybe make it bigger ? change models and all that stuff and make something like campaign ?
 
Level 12
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
360
I think it is big enough, but it if you want to improve the map you could make some spells for random bosses (then I would implement the bosses themselves) or create new models (if you know how to) or add something from the list in the presentation.

If you want to do something else/create your own map feel free to use any of the systems from the map, just give credit.
 
Level 2
Joined
Nov 20, 2010
Messages
27
i found an realy funny and sad bug : gargoyls kill them self... they cant attack but they die in sight xD pls fix it^^
 
Level 2
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
6
I found some bugs.

I liked the map a lot. and I don't like build maps.

1- Character gets stuck forever, maybe when using ESC menu.

2- Enemies can go through portals.

3- Gaps on walls when you don't use cross shaped wall on corners.

4- I loaded my char and my stats were like 2000 str 5000 mag, 4000 dex.

I liked the Diablo feeling, and the stats. the items requirements, the sounds etc.

So, Good Job, wish you could fix and add those stuff missing.
 
Level 12
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
360
Wow those are some severe bugs, they never occured to me, except 3) which isn't a bug. You are just supposed to use a cross shaped wall for corners ;-)

Did you use a code to load your character or the game cache?
If you used a code, are you really sure you copied it right? (Of course it shouldn't be possible to even load otherwise but there's a very small possibility..)

I'll have a look at those things (also the gargoyles) in the next days.
 
Level 2
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
6
I used load code with the + command, using Check while saving, then I saw my stats were OP. Also I got new random effects on my blue items.

I also tried to become hostile, but It only worked for some players and not all of them.

The getting stuck hadn't happened to me for some games, but the other players somehow got stuck. (in those games there where leavers)

I think I got stuck while changing spells in a hurry so maybe there is something in there that stops the character while changing spells slots.

When I got stuck I tried a lot of possibilities to get "unstuck" but nothing happened. Once I think someone who was stuck used -new to get a new character and was still stuck.

Just after dying I could move the "dead body" for a while if picked at the right time.

Another thing I saw was, If I had 2 or 3 books of the same spell, after using 1 all the others disappear, same with scrolls if used with right click (hotkey was ok)

Tried doing -edit and -play to reset my character position but nothing.

Like I said I really liked the map, wish I knew more about world editor to be able to help or create my own maps.

It would be good to add a Starting dungeon(no drops just gold) because players loose patience really fast when I'm making the maps, even with help from other players editing.
 
Level 12
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
360
What is the inventory system you used if i may asked or how did you set it up because im trying to do one where its a chest leg boot arms and helm char equipment and i would greatly appreciate it, very well done map 5/5

I made it myself.
There is an unprotected version available for download in the 11th post.
It basically uses images and trackables, just have a look at the custom code area (at the top of the trigger list) and the inventory triggers.

I suggest you make a new thread in the help zone if you still have questions, you can send me a link to it as PM I might have a look at it.

But before have a look at this tutorial about trackables.
 
Level 5
Joined
Sep 18, 2010
Messages
183
When i create a dungeon ,it says the next dungeon is not completed but i push the button: make the dungeon finished
 
Top