Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Detecting maps with memory hack

Discussion in 'Site Discussion' started by deepstrasz, Jun 7, 2018.

  1. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,446
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    As a reviewer I'm interested in this since the policy is not to allow such maps be approved on the site.

    So, if you have any idea how can one find out if a map is using hacks or not, please do tell:

    @MindWorX @GhostWolf @DracoL1ch
     
  2. DracoL1ch

    DracoL1ch

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,038
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    fastest - try to load it in newest patch, if failed - discard
     
  3. Daffa

    Daffa

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,201
    Resources:
    31
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    9
    Spells:
    18
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    31
    Wow, that's new to me. MemHack not allowed at all?
     
  4. Ralle

    Ralle

    Owner

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    11,464
    Resources:
    21
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    5
    Tutorials:
    14
    Resources:
    21
    Not sure if it is 100% written in the rules but maps are expected to work in native WC3 on the latest version on submission date. Otherwise they are broken. I guess broken maps are against the rules.
     
  5. chobibo

    chobibo

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,707
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    That would be a ton of work. Good luck deep.
     
  6. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,793
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    The memory exploit doesn't work on patch 1.29+ so it shouldn't really matter.

    It's generally pretty easy to spot though. Look for instances of the return bug and long codes with memory offsets. Sometimes the code is hidden inside of an .ai file, so search the map script for
    StartCampaignAI
    or
    StartMeleeAI
    . Theoretically it could be hidden in a preload file too, although executing preload files from within the MPQ no longer works (
    Preloader
    ).
     
  7. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15,446
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
  8. Ralle

    Ralle

    Owner

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    11,464
    Resources:
    21
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    5
    Tutorials:
    14
    Resources:
    21
    Honestly, no.
     
  9. Selaya

    Selaya

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Should also allow uploads of legacy versions of maps (that are designed to work with 1.26) because 1.26's a popular version amongst non battle.net players and will probably forever be
     
  10. nedio95

    nedio95

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,060
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Well, I think 1.28.something is the last one that allows "free" distribution...
    And 1.26/1.27.something was the last one to allow "free access to the install directory"...

    regards
    -Ned
     
  11. Selaya

    Selaya

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    the vast majority of 1.26 maps will work for 1.28 asw, and vice versa, short of the aformentioned memory hack stuff; but that isn't even the main concern here - 1.29 is the big break bc new natives and fluff