• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Custom Hero Sounds

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
I'm really sorry if this is something that's been asked a lot. I've tried using the almighty google, but haven't been able to find anything that's helped me out. I'm very new to the WC3 editor, so I might need people to talk to me like I'm only three years old.

Anyway, I downloaded a Lich King model from this site and have been able to get it working in game just fine. The problem is, it just doesn't feel right using him without his WoW voice, so I found some of the WotLK Lich King audio that I feel would correspond well to a RTS unit. I saw that the quickest way to give him his voice would be to replace an existing units audio file, so I figured I'd go with the Death Knight.

According to what I've read, I should just be able to use the "Replace Internal Sound" of the various Death Knight audio files and be able to replace them with the WoW Lich King voice, no problem. They even work in the Sound Editor Module. Unfortunately, they don't work in game. Could someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Again, I'm truly sorry if this is a common question, but I couldn't find any links to this forum on Google that helped me.

(Also, as a much less important issue, the Lich King's hero icon near the top left corner is fine unless I bring up the menu [F10] in which case it turns into a green box. What's the deal with that?)

This should be a relevant tutorial:
http://world-editor-tutorials.thehelper.net/cat_usersubmit.php?view=39614