1. Are you planning to upload your awesome spell or system to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  10. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Cruelty v1.2

Submitted by Squiggy
This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
-Spell is gui, mui, epic
-This one's made by myself and therefore, please give credits if you like it and want to use it.
-This spell is a remake of my entry for the s&smc#18 as I guess it fits pretty well being a standalone spell plus I optimized a few things to make it go off more smooth

Cruelty
[​IMG]
Spawns dark energy which shoots out harming energyballs, dealing damage to every nearby enemy unit
Units near the center also receive armor reduction
Damage: 10/12/15 per hit (-1.5/-3/-4.5 armor)
Range: 700
Type: Active
Cooldown: 13s


Changelog
v1.1:
~Added some variables
~Added yet another trigger (now it's five) to deal with the periodic triggers

v1.2:
~Added a group variable to make that spell finally mui for every player since I now know that cs: set bj_want blah sucks ^.^
~Changed the base ability (as suggested)


Keywords:
cruelty, dark, spell, jutsu, art, pattern, armor, effect, sfx, squiggy, epic, lulz, naruto
Contents

Cruelty (Map)

Reviews
Moderator
8.36 PM, 20th Jun 2009 Eccho: Seems to be quite alright now. I don't know if it is a 4 or a 5 though, so, lets say it will be rounded up by hvo's rating :) 01:16 PM, 20th Jun 2009 Eccho: I don't know how I should illustrate it well enough, but...
  1. 8.36 PM, 20th Jun 2009
    Eccho: Seems to be quite alright now. I don't know if it is a 4 or a 5 though, so, lets say it will be rounded up by hvo's rating :)

    old
    01:16 PM, 20th Jun 2009
    Eccho: I don't know how I should illustrate it well enough, but this is still not working, just like it wasn't in the contest D:
    [​IMG]

    There is clearly some issues in your looping trigger as it only works mui for player red but not for any other player. Beware, set bj_wantDestroyGroup tend to not work in small interval loops. I can't explain it, only you can verify it yourself by adding a blue hero and share the control, and order it to cast.

    Further notes, it would have been better if you use carrion swarm instead of basing it on shockwave, because shockwave tend to lag the game up sometimes due to the terrain height changing specifically where it is moving.


    17:27, 18th Jun 2009
    hvo-busterkomo:
    Review
    A nice effect, although I think Carrion Swarm would've looked better than shockwave.
    It leaks leak free and MUI, and no one has said otherwise. Approved with a 5/5 rating.
     
  2. Deuterium

    Deuterium

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,301
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Before I start reading the triggers, you need to adjust the unit's abilities in the object editor, as the hero has a wrong ability...

    And the spell is laggy...
     
  3. Squiggy

    Squiggy

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,604
    Resources:
    18
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    15
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    18
    Crap, exactly.. I fixed that one now.. was due to a false ability which I had to exchange.

    To lessen the (possible) lag, increase the missilespeed - will look fine either, just not so bloomy
     
  4. Deuterium

    Deuterium

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,301
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    • CTpre
      • Events
        • Map initialization
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Set CT_temppt = (Position of CT_dummy2 0126 <gen>)
        • Unit - Add Cruelty to CT_dummy2 0126 <gen>
        • Unit - Order CT_dummy2 0126 <gen> to Neutral Dark Ranger - Silence CT_temppt
        • Unit - Add a 0.20 second Generic expiration timer to CT_dummy2 0126 <gen>
        • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_CT_temppt)

    Instead of placing a unit in your map, create the dummy you use in your spell and then do all the preload and remove it and remove the point leak...

    Why do you use custom values? Can't you use a variable instead?
     
  5. Squiggy

    Squiggy

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,604
    Resources:
    18
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    15
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    18
    • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_CT_temppt)

    I'm pretty sure that the point leak is already removed.

    Also for the CV, they're independant and accessible whenever I need them.
    Plus they can serve as quite anything which needs a value (size, flying height, damage etc etc.)
     
  6. Deuterium

    Deuterium

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,301
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Ohh sorry you misunderstood me, or to be more realistic, I wasn't clear... when I said remove the leak i was just counting out the preload steps and not saying you didn't remove the leaks :p

    And yes now I understand the whole CV issue. Since they're independent dummies then there wouldn't be any other spell using that specific CV, so there's no prob using it... right?
     
  7. aaron

    aaron

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    512
    Resources:
    6
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    4
    Resources:
    6
    if there is lag there is leaks so there must be a hidden one somewhere o_O
     
  8. Squiggy

    Squiggy

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,604
    Resources:
    18
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    15
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    18
    Exactly, since the spell applies the cv only to the dummies which are used by the spell (if any) and thus, no other unit's CV gets changed/removed/nulled/whatever.
    noez, all leaks are dealt with.
    The lag occurs when too many sfx are 'active', means if you expierience the lag, increase the missile speed to get rid of the high amount ;)
     
  9. Rmx

    Rmx

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,088
    Resources:
    18
    Icons:
    3
    Spells:
    15
    Resources:
    18
    Who told you that ? o_O

    Anyway Custom values are better not to be used, they may have a chance to Damage something, but indexing is more safer, tought i don't really care :p
     
  10. f0rsAk3n

    f0rsAk3n

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Resources:
    10
    Spells:
    9
    Template:
    1
    Resources:
    10
    ooooooh shiiiinnnnyyyyyyy.

    lol seems leakless,mui and really usefull.

    4/5 for meh.
     
  11. baassee

    baassee

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,220
    Resources:
    17
    Spells:
    14
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    17
    preload effects ...

    in the end you destroy your trigger also use this line in the prelaod trigger

    • Custom script: call PreloadStart()


    Learned by Kingz ;)
     
  12. Deuterium

    Deuterium

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,301
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Leaks lead to lagging later in the game for the memory would be jammed with memory and there's barely any space for the new information...
    This wouldn't happen in a advance computer prepared for gaming, but would definetly happen on some of those old computers during long games ;)

    So leaking does not lead to lag if you're testing the spell for like 5 minutes :p


    EDIT:
    There already is a preload option in GUI to preload special effects too 8)
    • Game - Preload BLABLA
     
  13. Kingz

    Kingz

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,470
    Resources:
    6
    Spells:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    I can only suggest making this more user friendly.
    When i say that i mean that you should add variables for those effects you are using so the users could with ease change the look of the spell :p
    No complains about this spell, the spell looks fine.
    EDIT:
    The thing that is causing the fps drop is the number of dummies spawned :p
     
  14. Squiggy

    Squiggy

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,604
    Resources:
    18
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    15
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    18
    Meh there's still something wrong with it, the dummies are supposed to stay on the map for .2 seconds, which is correct - therefore the maximum amount of dummies is five which shouldn't affect the gameplay.
    Well it doesn't have a dropdown of fps for me (only from 64 to 59), in any case I'm going to rework it a bit
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2009
  15. Kingz

    Kingz

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,470
    Resources:
    6
    Spells:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    Try adding this trigger:
    • Dummy Removal
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Dies
      • Conditions
        • Multiple ConditionsOr - Any (Conditions) are true
          • Conditions
            • (Unit-type of (Triggering unit)) Equal to (==) CT_dummy
            • (Unit-type of (Triggering unit)) Equal to (==) CT_dummy2
      • Actions
        • Unit - Remove (Triggering unit) from the game

    I don't know if you know but when a unit dies it stays in the game for ~2-3 seconds.
    Removing them instantly is always better than killing a dummy unit.
    This should improve any fps drop.
     
  16. Eccho

    Eccho

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,297
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Have you ever thought of that using the preload function is pointless unless you know exactly what it does. (told by me from Hanky). He started using it, but guess what, he used it wrong and it did nothing:p
     
  17. Kingz

    Kingz

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,470
    Resources:
    6
    Spells:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    I always use preload like this:
    Code (vJASS):
    call Preload(*effect string*)
    call PreloadStart()

    For abilities i create a dummy, add the ability and remove the unit.
    Don't know if this is wrong but it never lags my spell for the first time :p
    I also heard that some people create a special effect and destroy it and that makes a preload?
    I say use the built in preload functions...
     
  18. Eccho

    Eccho

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,297
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    As far as I recall it, strings doesnt need to be preloaded:p
    Lag spikes are given by handles, thus, abilities and units, and even special effects I guess, once they're created/used for the first time.
     
  19. Deuterium

    Deuterium

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,301
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Kingz, if PreloadStart iisn't used, it doesn't work?
    I mean isn't the call Preload () supposed to preload directly once called?


    EDIT:
    The string is the file path to the special effect so that the function can find the file to preload... 8)