• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Computer Game Design Class Project

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
So this is a bit off key from what you people usually see on the Hive, I'm going to give you a bit of background.

I'm actually a student for a Computer Game Design Satellite Class up in Washington State, wow that's a lot of capitals. Anyway, I seem to know more than the teacher about the class (this is the pilot year), so I'm helping write and direct the curriculum for the year.

I decided that with the game engines availible, the Warcraft, Unreal 04 and Torque Engines are the ones we'll be using, Warcraft being the most simple and the one I have the most experience in, I figured we would make a COMPLETELY custom RTS from there.

So we're off, the class of thirty is divided into three teams, one for each civilization.

Mo'kreh- Quality over quantity is the theme for this team, they're concentrating on large, expensive, powerfull units with a nice spread of specialty ones to neutralize any specific weaknesses.

Famine- Completely biologic race, no, not the Zerg. These guys arejust about balanced in every category, able to Tech the Air, Ground or Specialty sides of their Tech Tree with equal results.

Xemenday- Sililcon-crystal-based psynetic concious life forms. They've got HEAVY dependency on tactics and strategy, the "technique" race if you will.