• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Change Glow of Phoenix to Black

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 5
Hey guys,

I need a purple-black phoenix for my map so i'm currently editing blizzards phoenix.mdx. Therefore i'm using the War3 Model Editor.

The original phoenix has a red glow that covers the whole body which is generated by a geoset animation. As soon as i turn the colour to black or sth. dark the glow isn't visible anymore.

It's the same with the particle emitters. I cant turn them black...

I have ZERO plan of what i'm doing here (this is my first try, never did any modeling before). If you know any tutorials that cover my problem that would be helpful as well.

You have to change the emitter's filter mode/the material blend mode. If it is an effect, it is probably set to additive right now. As RGB, black is (0, 0, 0), so additive is not a good option for a black-colored effect.

Here is a quick explanation of the filter-modes:
Rao Dao Zao said:
Transparent only has a setting of 0 or 1 (or about 0.99 or something, but it's negligible); basically, it won't do any nice fading work in-between -- things are there or not.
Blend is the same, except it goes all the way in-between (it sometimes has Z-order issues, but these shouldn't matter with particles).
Additive is exactly what it says on the tin -- it adds the pixel colours together. Black is, of course, 0, 0, 0, so 0 plus anything is anything, making black invisible. All other colours go closer to white, where things become 'fully' opaque.
Add Alpha is like additive, but it takes account of the alpha channel in the normal manner too (not sure about this one, though, never used it).