• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

[General] Can you import ripped models into WC3:Reforged?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Hey there, i'm pretty new to the WC3 Editor, but it went well up until now when i actually tried to get into custom models. I'm trying to create a custom map for only me and my friends as a means of getting to know the editor better and improving on an old WC3 map concept we used to play back then. I have no idea if the WC3:Reforged editor is any different from the old one, but i couldn't find a lot of infos about it since it's quite new.

I tried using ripped models from old Pokemon games for example from 'Colosseum'-a Gamecube game, because i have no experience in 3D modelling and didn't want to learn it just for a small project like this.
I get an .obj file, .mtl file and multiple .png files which are the materials i guess?
I then put the .obj file into blender, model looked fine with all the colors and shapes intact, export it as .obj and i get .obj + .mtl back. I then convert these files with numerous tools that i've found in Internet. Import the converted files in the file manager from the WC3 Editor, make a custom unit and link the Art - Model path to the right files. When i place the units they are just invisible, i also saved the map afterwards and started it up again since i've read somwhere that this could be an issue, but it wasn't.