• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[Miscellanous / Other] Armor mechanics: Removing the diminishing return

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Yes, wc3 armor has diminishing return. First, my apologize for posting about a certainly known topic, but I'm new to wc3 moding, and I find percentage and probabilities discussions interesting. Aren't percentages a weird thing? They're relative without a definite value, can be added and worked like normal numbers, yet often start at 0 and finish at 100. The reason I say that is because wc3 armor does not work the way I thought it did.

For people that don't know, in wc3, each point of armor adds the same amount of EHP, or Equivalent Health Point.
----> 0 armor = 100% HP, 1 armor = 106% HP, 2 armor = 112% HP. For some this means it has no diminishing return, and in a way it is correct. BUT, I beg to differ.

I think that an armor system without diminishing return should not have a constant EHP, but a constant damage reduction. Here are some graphs to illustrate the situation.
-- In blue is the vanilla curve, used in wc3 and based on a 6% EHP increase per gained armor point.
-- In orange is my curve, used in my head and based on a 6% damage increase per loss armor point.
(The vanilla one is based on gained armor, and mine about loss. But it doesn't matter, it's just to keep it consistant on the 6%. A 6% damage increase per loss armor point is equal to a 5.66% damage decrease per gained armor point. You think it's weird? I do)

-----------------------------------

Capture d’écran 2022-03-23 à 23.43.03.png
Capture d’écran 2022-03-23 à 23.45.35.png