1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Ride into the sunset with the 32nd Modeling Contest. The contest is optionally paired. Best of luck, people!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. This adventure has come to an end. Congratulate our heroes in the 16th Mini Mapping Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. From the gates of hell, the 5th Special Effect Contest Results have emerged.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Area of Effect Curse Abil

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Lee_Go, Aug 27, 2009.

  1. Lee_Go

    Lee_Go

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hi, trying to make spell that's an AOE that makes it so all units in the aoe selection ring are cursed, as in they have higher miss chance. I.e. Dota's Rikimaru, his blue cloud ability.
     
  2. Fair is Foul

    Fair is Foul

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You may want to try messing around with the Human ability 'Cloud'. I'm pretty sure DotA would spawn a dummy unit and cast the modified 'Cloud' ability.
     
  3. DarkAngelAzazel

    DarkAngelAzazel

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,308
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    2 options:

    If you want it to be like rikis cloud:

    1. Copy and edit the cloud ability -> edit miss values
    2. Create dummy ability based on hmmmmmm I prefere monsun with 0.01 durotation
    3. Create trigger:

    Event: Unit starts effect of ability
    Condition: Ability being cast = "dummyAbility"
    Actions:

    Create dummy unit at position of ability being cast
    Add "yourCloud" to dummy
    Make dummy cast "cloud" at target point of ability being cast
    add "durotationOfYourCloud" sec timer to last created unit



    If you want it to be instant like an aoe curse:

    1. Copy and edit cure
    2. Dummy ability based on monsun (0.01 duro)
    3. Trigger

    Event: unit starts effect ...
    condition: ability being... = dummyAbility
    action:

    Pick every unit within "rangeOfSpell" of target point of ability being cast and do ac tions:
    summon dummy unit
    add curse to last created unit
    make last created unit cast curse on picked unit
    add 1 sec timer to last created unit





    EDIT: just for all those guys who like to criticise this -.- THIS IS NOT LEAKFREE!!! REMOVE LEAKS YOURSELF
     
  4. baassee

    baassee

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,220
    Resources:
    17
    Spells:
    14
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    17
    ehum ...

    dummy ability blizzard the aoe there so you can see it, nullify all values
    dummy ability curse
    a dummy
    you need a unitgroup variable, a point variable
    event
    unit starts effect of an ability

    condition
    ability being cast equal to Curse AOE

    Actions
    set targetpoint = target point of ability being cast
    set unitgroup = units in range of "your aoe" with matching conditon not a structre, not magic immune etc

    pick every unit in unitgroup and to multiple actions
    loop
    create dummy at targetpoint
    add cursedummy ability to last created unit
    set level of curse dummy to lvl of Curse AOE
    order last created unit to cast unit target undead banshee curse on picked unit
    Add 1 sec timer to last created unti

    new actions
    custom script call destroygroup(udg_unitgroup)
    custom script call RemoveLocation(udg_targetpoint)

    and there you got totally leakfree and MUI
     
  5. Lee_Go

    Lee_Go

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Then What's Wrong with this? :

    Events
    ___Unit - A Unit Starts the effect of an ability
    Conditions
    ___(Ability Being Cast) Equal to dummy AOE blizzard
    Actions
    ___Set CursePoint = (Target point of ability being Cast)
    ___Set CurseGroup = (Units within 300.00 of (Target point of ability being cast))
    ___Unit Group - Pick every unit in CurseGroup and do (Actions)
    ______Loop - Actions
    _________Unit - Create 1 Dummy for Player 1 (Red) at CursePoint face Default building facing degrees
    _________Unit - Add dummy_curse to (Last created unit)
    _________Unit - Order (Last created unit) to Undead Banshee - Curse (Picked Unit)
    _________Unit - Add a 1.00 second Generic expiration timer to (Last created unit)

    ___Custom script: call destroygroup(udg_CurseGroup)
    ___Custom script: RemoveLocation(udg_CursePoint)
     
  6. wolfman

    wolfman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    696
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    It seems like it would work. The ability curse costs mana. Make sure ur dummy ability costs 0 mana. I would just give the dummy unit the ability so you dont have to add it thru triggers. Also make sure the cast range on it is like 1000 (just to be safe). Also create the dummy for owner of triggering unit, not for player 1. Also the curse ability might have a longer casting time than 1 second. Make the dummy last for 3 seconds, but make sure u take away its attack and set the dummy curse so it has a 5 second cooldown to make sure it wont be cast twice. Also make sure the dummy has movement speed and turn speed or else it wont be able to face its target in order to cast the spell.
     
  7. Lee_Go

    Lee_Go

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    There's some code wrong... idk what's wrong but the editor tells me there are codes messed up and they wont work so it disables the trigger all together.
     
  8. wolfman

    wolfman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    696
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    call destroygroup(udg_CurseGroup)
    Change that to call DestroyGroup(udg_CasterGroup)
    that shud fix it. Always remember to capitalize!! lol

    RemoveLocation(udg_CursePoint)
    change that to call RemoveLocation(udg_CursePoint)
    You always gotta put call in front if you remove a point or group or whatever.
     
  9. Adiktuz

    Adiktuz

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    9,674
    Resources:
    23
    Models:
    2
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    16
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    23
    You can just use the channel as a base ability, I find it best to use that spell....
     
  10. Lee_Go

    Lee_Go

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ahh, thank you to all but just one last problem, it works fine and all but once and a while as im messing with it to make sure it works well it lags up because... i forgot the word for spells that cant be used by multiple people at same time but i fixed that problem so peolple cant use at same time but i still get that same lag effect u get wen u do it at same time. only happens once and a while tho