1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Travel to distant realms and encounter scenes unknown to the common folk. The Greatest of Adventures is upon us with the 8th Cinematic Contest. Join in on a fun ride.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The 18th Icon Contest is ON! Choose any ingame unit and give him/her Hero abilities. Good luck to all.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Contestants are to create a scene set in the Stone Age. Come and see what you can come up with. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Colour outside the lines! Techtree Contest #13 is a go. The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Greetings cerebrates, our Swarm needs new spawners that will have numerous children. Join the HIVE's 31st Modeling Contest - Spawners and Spawned! The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

1.31.1 [Bug] Loading saved game breaks some unit events

Discussion in 'Patch & Reforged Discussion' started by BizzaroFukuro, Jul 22, 2019.

  1. BizzaroFukuro

    BizzaroFukuro

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Uploading test map for demonstration.

    Save the game, then load that game, and some specific unit events will not be recognized anymore.
    For example, these will break:
    Code (vJASS):
    EVENT_UNIT_ISSUED_POINT_ORDER
    EVENT_UNIT_ISSUED_TARGET_ORDER
    EVENT_UNIT_ISSUED_ORDER
    EVENT_UNIT_SPELL_CAST
    EVENT_UNIT_ATTACKED
    // I didn't check all of events, so probably there is more


    I suppose they broke something when they added new generic unit events.

    This bug does not occur in WC 1.30.4
    This bug occurs in WC 1.31.1.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tommi Gustafsson

    Tommi Gustafsson

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    6
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    2
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    6
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2019
  3. BizzaroFukuro

    BizzaroFukuro

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    It's more than annoying. It's game breaking.
     
  4. WaterKnight

    WaterKnight

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,033
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    5
    Can you workaround by re-creating the triggers/events?
     
  5. Tommi Gustafsson

    Tommi Gustafsson

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    6
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    2
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    6
    You can workaround by changing unit-specific events to generic events and use conditions to specify the triggering unit. But that's cumbersome.
     
  6. OutsiderXE

    OutsiderXE

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    958
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    I did that for soem triggers but I don'T like the idea of fixing bugs like this. I would wait for a patch unless it's urgent.
     
  7. Shar Dundred

    Shar Dundred

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,544
    Resources:
    10
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    10
    I am still at 1.29.2.
    Is this workaround required if I did not create the map with 1.31.1 but players use 1.31.1 to play the map?
     
  8. Tommi Gustafsson

    Tommi Gustafsson

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    6
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    2
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    6
    The same here. We just patched one critical trigger in the Dwarf Campaign like this and left everything else as they were.

    You need the workaround only if people save-and-load your maps. And yes, AFAIK, the bug affects all maps created with previous versions of Warcraft III.
     
  9. Shar Dundred

    Shar Dundred

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,544
    Resources:
    10
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    10
    Which is very likely to happen in my maps.
    I fucking hate Blizzard's buggy updates.
    Thanks for the info nontheless.
     
  10. Shar Dundred

    Shar Dundred

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,544
    Resources:
    10
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    10
    @Tommi Gustafsson I have to ask you because I cannot test myself as I refuse to update my game:
    Is the "Unit comes within range of unit" event also affected by this?
     
  11. BizzaroFukuro

    BizzaroFukuro

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    No, it's unaffected and still works after game load.
    This bug seems to be related only to
    TriggerRegisterUnitEvent()
    .
     
  12. Shar Dundred

    Shar Dundred

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,544
    Resources:
    10
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    10
    At least something. Still sucks that this bug appeared.
    Thanks for the info!