1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Choose your ride to damnation in the 5th Special Effect Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The winners of the 13th Techtree Contest have been announced!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The 13th Music Contest Poll has begun! Vote for the best tracks in this symphony of frost and flame.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

0 damage spell deals a very small amount of damage (something like 0.5)

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Uncle, May 29, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Uncle

    Uncle

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Messages:
    764
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Just patched to the new 1.31 patch and I don't know if this is related, but I have a dummy unit that casts a 0 damage Storm Bolt to stun units. For some reason the Storm Bolt is dealing a very small amount of damage, it appears to be about 0.5. I'm staring at it in the Object Editor and it's clearly set to deal 0 damage.

    Any ideas? New patch bug? I'm using a Damage Detection System (Bribes) but I turned it off and it didn't make a difference.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2019
  2. Bribe

    Bribe

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8,125
    Resources:
    25
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    25
    Illusions also deal 1 damage instead of 0.
     
  3. Sabe

    Sabe

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    431
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I'm having the same problem. Must have something to do with the patch.
     
  4. Bribe

    Bribe

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8,125
    Resources:
    25
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    25
    If it's 1.31 specific, then it's most likely due to the separation of pre-damage versus on-damage events that were introduced. I haven't done enough comparisons to how it was in 1.30 and now that the game is patched officially I'm not able to verify whether this is a new issue or not.
     
  5. Chaosium

    Chaosium

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Did you try with another spell ? I used a damage detection system of my own prior to the patch, and all my targeted spells based on Channel displayed "1" as floating text damage, even though no actual damage was dealt.

    I don't think that's 1.31 related, and no clue why it happens.
     
  6. Uncle

    Uncle

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Messages:
    764
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I honestly can't remember if it was happening prior to 1.31. I feel like I would've noticed it before, though.
     
  7. Sabe

    Sabe

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    431
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    To me it definitely started only after this patch.
     
  8. Bribe

    Bribe

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8,125
    Resources:
    25
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    25
    At least some of it was already there since 1.30, as I had tested the PTR and 1.30 side by side and the PTR didn't seem to do anything differently.