• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[vJASS] struct question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 6
Hi,
I just started learning how to use the editor today so I might have a few really stupid questions. Don't simplify the explanations though, I should be able to keep up.

I already read the nifty oop struct tutorial, so thank you azn for that.

Anyways here's my problem in condensed form:

JASS:
struct Wheel

//my first question is should it be:
    private hashtable myunits
    //or
    private hashtable myunits = InitHashtable()            

. //lots of irrelevant methods (all in the Wheel struct)

method createwheel takes nothing returns hashtable
        //stuff that works
        return units //IS of type hashtable
    endmethod    

static method create takes nothing returns Wheel
        local Wheel newwheel = Wheel.allocate()
        set newwheel.myunits = newwheel.createwheel //<==== my big question
        return newwheel
    endmethod
endstruct

OK so the jasshelper compiler says that I've got an undeclared variable Wheel at the line that ive marked with my big question. Here's what it looks like in jasshelper

Code:
set s__Wheel_myunits[newwheel]=Wheel.getMethod(createwheel,newwheel)

I don't think I should be running into any problems with a static method calling a non static, since its really a instance variable calling the nonstatic method (.createwheel)

From the sound of the error it almost seems like I'd need to wait to call any methods in my struct until after the constructor has been fully finished, but that seems like such a huge flaw I can't even imagine blizzard would have made JASS that way.