1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

units you cant controll

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by shocker, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. shocker

    shocker

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    How do you make a unit that the owner cant controll it. Kinda like the locus ability but i want it to be killable.
     
  2. Vampiro320

    Vampiro320

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The pause/unpause unit can help, but I'm not quite sure if that is what you are looking for, I'm having a bit of trouble understanding.
     
  3. shocker

    shocker

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    i want them 2 act like normal units, but the player cant controll them.

    so pausing them would not work.
     
  4. hutecable2

    hutecable2

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Change their ownership?

    Alternatively, using triggers, you could do an event on Unit is being issued an order (all 3 of them) then belay the order by re-issuing the order you want the unit to actually do.
     
  5. Vampiro320

    Vampiro320

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If you have the player spaces to spare, you could use the 'forces' menu in the scenerio section and put player one, with another player, and let them have shared sight.
     
  6. dragon_kid

    dragon_kid

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ...or just use the 'Locust' ability. It makes them unable to be interacted with at all though, so try basing the unit off a ward.
     
  7. Ghost765

    Ghost765

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,162
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    u can still order wards around however. just by right clicking. i THINK (THINK) there is an action that makes u deselect a unit if u select him, i've seen it done in DotA with Undying's zombie summons.
     
  8. shocker

    shocker

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    locust makes them invisable(stated in first post)

    Un selecting would add 2 much of a lag 2 check every time.

    i dont have people 2 spare

    also basing the unit off a ward does not work too

    a map this is done in is castle fight
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2009
  9. swipe5weep

    swipe5weep

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    • uncontrollable
      • Events
        • Player - Player 1 (Red) Selects a unit
        • Player - Player 2 (Blue) Selects a unit
        • Player - Player 3 (Teal) Selects a unit
        • Player - Player 4 (Purple) Selects a unit
        • Player - Player 5 (Yellow) Selects a unit
        • Player - Player 6 (Orange) Selects a unit
        • Player - Player 7 (Green) Selects a unit
        • Player - Player 8 (Pink) Selects a unit
        • Player - Player 9 (Gray) Selects a unit
        • Player - Player 10 (Light Blue) Selects a unit
        • Player - Player 11 (Dark Green) Selects a unit
        • Player - Player 12 (Brown) Selects a unit
      • Conditions
        • (Unit-type of (Triggering unit)) Equal to Peasant
      • Actions
        • Unit - Replace (Triggering unit) with a (Unit-type of (Triggering unit)) using The old unit's relative life and mana

    That's what you need i think.. :wink:
     
  10. ALiEN95

    ALiEN95

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    select unit event has delay about half sec,enough to order unit to move...,
    replacing unit is like confusing him...
     
  11. Reaper2008

    Reaper2008

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,117
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    That'd remove all buffs though, and stop all channeled spells. If you want them to just run around, create a dummy (invi & locust) and give it taunt with duration. Give it wander too so that it moves (modify it).
     
  12. ALiEN95

    ALiEN95

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Locust is bad......i think you should not use it for that

    if it is fine,you could add rally ability and ward classification,on that way player cannot use spells or attack/move orders,it can only set the useless rally point xD

    it would be good if you remove rally (flag) effect
    i think add and remove rally when it is casted should work for remove effect

    this way will work good but i
    m not sure will it be bad for you if unit has ward classification
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2009
  13. hutecable2

    hutecable2

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    As far as I can tell in CF, they use the triggering method I mentioned previously;

    AnyUnitEvent: EVENT_PLAYER_UNIT_ISSUED_TARGET_ORDER and EVENT_PLAYER_UNIT_ISSUED_POINT_ORDER (testing for types ,so you can control builder still)

    then they do several checks and branches of orders.
     
  14. godricgn

    godricgn

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    To add on...

    I also realised that by changing the ownership of a unit and retaining it's colour works but the previous owner no longer receives bounty when that unit kills another. How do i retain the bounty given when killing other units? Just like legion td and castle fight. You do not have control over the units but u do receive the bounty when the enemy units are killed. PLEASE HELP!