1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Unique Techtree system, similar to zerg

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Cienfuegos, Nov 30, 2008.

  1. Cienfuegos

    Cienfuegos

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hey was wondering if somone could help me make a system where one builder could become multiple units; with the correct upgrades and buildings requuired. I treid to use destroyer ability for all the transformations but they get mixed up no matter which i use
     
  2. InfiniteSeven

    InfiniteSeven

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Perhaps you should make a dummy ability, and give the dummy ability the techtree requirements and then, trigger it so that when the ability is cast, it replaces the triggering unit with another unit(s).

    - Infinite
     
  3. Airandius

    Airandius

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,238
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    It's a unit right? If so, just make a bunch of dummy spells that do nothing.
    For example you want it to become a footman u can check if his gold amount (with an integer that stores it) is high enough, if it has all the upgrades (make a boolean for that) and any other conditions.
    Then just remove the money, save the point of builder, remove the builder, create footman at builder point, remove builder point and select the footman for the player.

    Or if you are lazy, just turn the builder into a building that way you can just upgrade it into the 'building' you want it to be.
     
  4. Cienfuegos

    Cienfuegos

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks it worked!!

    Hey thanks guys it worked perfectly, also got me toying around and discovered other cool ways to make tech trees. thanks agian my question was ansered realy quik.
    By the Way how do I mark this as "Solved"