Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Crash] Unable to save on World Editor

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Inuyasha546, Aug 19, 2016.

  1. Inuyasha546

    Inuyasha546

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm trying to save a map on WE but every time I click save, WE crashes. This map is from 2009 and I'm not sure what is causing the issue. I can't test the map either.

    When I try to host the map on Wc3, I can't even get in the lobby. The game just takes me back the main menu
     
  2. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Tutorial Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11,064
    Resources:
    18
    Icons:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    18
    I read about some old patch causing this, something about the return bug if I recall.
    You can try updating wc3 the latest verison 1.27
     
  3. JAKEZINC

    JAKEZINC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,615
    Resources:
    9
    Spells:
    9
    Resources:
    9
    If it takes you back to the main menu then try to use JNGP for saving maps that contains vJASS and other extensive features. The vanilla world editor will throw an error as it cant compile that language.
     
  4. Inuyasha546

    Inuyasha546

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @Chaosy -- Yes, I remember this being an issue as to why the game couldn't run back in day. I was hoping to fix that but I don't know how. Also, my wc3 is up to date, I believe. It's on 1.27.0.52240


    @jakeZinc -- Is the solution to that patch (what chaosy said) to save it using JNGP?
    Where can I download JNGP?
     
  5. JAKEZINC

    JAKEZINC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,615
    Resources:
    9
    Spells:
    9
    Resources:
    9
    I think I misunderstood your problem
    ( I thought you could actually open the map on the editor )

    But atleast still a must have:
    Jass New Gen Pack

    Edit: The solution he said is that you must update your warcraft patch to the latest version which is 1.27 but I don't know if it will fix the old map that is being saved from the old patch.
     
  6. Inuyasha546

    Inuyasha546

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yes, I can open the map on regular WE but I can't test or save it.
     
  7. JAKEZINC

    JAKEZINC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,615
    Resources:
    9
    Spells:
    9
    Resources:
    9
    ^ What is the error message? Is it a compile error?
     
  8. Inuyasha546

    Inuyasha546

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    When I try to save in regular WE, WE crashes. However, I just tried it on JNGP and it gave me a compile error.
    This error message might not make sense if you don't have the entire code but

    Line 1313: Syntax Error, unexpected: "to"?
    The line is
    call MoveLightning(GetHandleLightning(t, "li"),GetHandleBoolean(t, "chkvis"),GetUnitX(from),GetUnitY(from),GetUnitX(to),getUnitY(to))

    Edit: Still can't host it on wc3. I get the "FATAL ERROR!" error
     
  9. JAKEZINC

    JAKEZINC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,615
    Resources:
    9
    Spells:
    9
    Resources:
    9
    Just replace that line if you are surely have experience in coding or just delete the whole code or trigger. I've also have this problem before on an old map that contains lots of vJASS stuffs but anyway where did you get that GetHandleLightning func? Im not familliar with it.
     
  10. Inuyasha546

    Inuyasha546

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm not sure where it came from. I tried finding the line that gave me the error in the triggers but I couldn't find it. I didn't write the vJASS for this map

    This is the error message I am getting:
    upload_2016-8-19_16-42-17.png

    I tried deleting all the triggers from the map and I still get the same message when I try to run the game. Maybe it's the version of wc3?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2016
  11. JAKEZINC

    JAKEZINC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,615
    Resources:
    9
    Spells:
    9
    Resources:
    9
    After you deleted all the triggers did the save work?
    ( ^ If save works but still you cant play the map then maybe it has something to do with the version )

    It looks like the problem is not on the triggers and I cant help you in that case, hope for another member who have experienced in this kind of stuff.