• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Two simple questions about the "Wait" action.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Howdy, folks.

So I'm an amateur mapmapker, but I've gathered from experience and research on the Hive that the Wait action is not good to use. It causes triggers to be screwy, but I don't know what exactly it does.

1) What exactly does it do that messes with triggers?

and

2) How can I trigger a wait time without using this action? I'm not sure if the only way is to set a countdown timer. If so I can deal with it, but I'm hoping there might be a simpler way.

Level 4
I see. I thought it might have something to do with local variables resetting or something.

And that sounds good. In fact, I've seen it a few times on some spells on here, so I guess I should've picked that up on my own. :/

Thanks!

Level 5
wait also cant be use in MUI, so if you want to use some spell that use wait like,
after casting, will stun the area AFTER 3 second.
u can make it MUI without any index or mui system,

just create a dummy unit at target point for trig unit, and order the DUMMY unit to cast stun spell like war stomp....

the core is... to give the war stomp 3 second casting time, OR give the dummy unit cast time point to 3second :D
hope it helps

Level 29
wait also cant be use in MUI,

This is completely wrong. As i have stated in my answer to his question waits have nothing to do with making things MUI or not MUI.