• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Troublesome Model. Any ideas?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 35
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Messages
6,394
I made a model from sratch, animated it (correctly), textured it, changed the mdl to show the anims, made particle effects for death and attack animations.

Testet in Magos, all worked perfectly, the particle effects showed up in their right animations, all anims worked.

Then jsut before uploading to hive I thought I better check it in WEU, but strange enough only death anim worked, and the particle effects was there all time, never disappeared or similar.
So nothing worked as It did in Magos.. any ideas?

btw: If you need the model to solve this pm me.
 
Level 35
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Messages
6,394
When dealing with visibility, you MUST set the first frame of every animation to be either visible or invisible or it will cause bugs.
The first frame of the animation must be set, then in the middle and end you can do whatever you want.
--donut3.5--

What? Dont quite get what you mean?

The mdl for anims looks like this:
}
Model "RED BARON" {
BlendTime 100,
MinimumExtent { -16.592737, -27.176205, 0.000000 },
MaximumExtent { 21.197104, 21.001450, 23.026812 },
BoundsRadius 32.708534,
}
Sequences 5 {
Anim "Death" {
Interval { 4305, 6150 },
NonLooping,
MinimumExtent { -16.592737, -27.176205, 0.000000 },
MaximumExtent { 21.197104, 21.001450, 23.026812 },
BoundsRadius 32.708534,
}
Anim "Stand" {
Interval { 2993, 4100 },
MinimumExtent { -16.592737, -27.176205, 0.000000 },
MaximumExtent { 21.197104, 21.001450, 23.026812 },
BoundsRadius 32.708534,
}
Anim "Attack" {
Interval { 861, 1640 },
NonLooping,
MinimumExtent { -16.592737, -27.176205, 0.000000 },
MaximumExtent { 21.197104, 21.001450, 23.026812 },
BoundsRadius 32.708534,
}
Anim "Stand 1" {
Interval { 1681, 2870 },
MinimumExtent { -16.592737, -27.176205, 0.000000 },
MaximumExtent { 21.197104, 21.001450, 23.026812 },
BoundsRadius 32.708534,
}
Anim "Walk" {
Interval { 41, 820 },
MinimumExtent { -16.592737, -27.176205, 0.000000 },
MaximumExtent { 21.197104, 21.001450, 23.026812 },
BoundsRadius 32.708534,
}

Anything wrong there?
 
Level 27
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
3,052
For visibility, the first frame of every animation must be set. For instance, if death is 200-800, and you wanted him to disappear at 600, this this incorrect:
Code:
0: 1
600: 0
This is correct:
Code:
0: 1
200: 1
600: 0
You have to set the first frame of every animation for visibility. It will usually not make a difference in Magos, but it will ingame.
--donut3.5--
 
Level 7
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Messages
109
If you're confident that your misordered animations are not the problem, then OK. But what I meant was that normally animations are listed with the ones that occupy lower frames first. Like first there would be one with 100-400, and then one that is 560-920, and so on (rather than 560-920 and then 100-400). In yours, they are not sorted like that.

You might also want to describe what you mean by the animation not working. Is the model not showing up, or is it not animated?
 
Level 35
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Messages
6,394
If you're confident that your misordered animations are not the problem, then OK. But what I meant was that normally animations are listed with the ones that occupy lower frames first. Like first there would be one with 100-400, and then one that is 560-920, and so on (rather than 560-920 and then 100-400). In yours, they are not sorted like that.

You might also want to describe what you mean by the animation not working. Is the model not showing up, or is it not animated?

Uh :confused: Okay I try again... Yes the model is animated... else their wouldnt be a problem... do read the post... misordering anims has nothing to do with anything, but I could try changing it, but it makes no differntce as it is the name who decides what anim it is. As said only the death anim shows up.

This aint the place to ask for help to texture, as you can make a tread about it if you cant find any tutorials... but I know for sure there is some... try using search button or google (btw also called skinning)
 
Level 35
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Messages
6,394
As said only the death anim shows up.

The only anim working is the dead anim, and the particle effects is working, but incorretly as they dont go away, they stay all time, even though they should only appear in specific animations.... So yes donuts visible could correct that problem I think, although I thought i set them right in magos when creating those particle effects...

But still the other anims aint showing up.
 
Level 7
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Messages
109
I still don't understand what you mean by "the other anims aint showing up." (If anyone else does, feel free to clarify!)

Does that mean the model is invisible while those animations are playing? Does it mean that the animations do not appear to exist at all (as if your model only had a death animation)? Does it mean that the model is unanimated during those animations?
 
Level 35
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Messages
6,394
I still don't understand what you mean by "the other anims aint showing up." (If anyone else does, feel free to clarify!)

Does that mean the model is invisible while those animations are playing? Does it mean that the animations do not appear to exist at all (as if your model only had a death animation)? Does it mean that the model is unanimated during those animations?

Okay.. I may have explained stupid.. the anims didnt work except for death anim, found out why.. the one file I fixed was the mdl, then I convertet to mdx added particles, then I convertet back, but to other name... then I placed the right names for anims (but in the wrong mdl file without particle effects) convertet the right file back (it was still in the converter) and then tryid playing = didnt work, so that why it doesnt have any anim donut.. But you was right about the particle effects, I made a bug in the visible (noticed when I finally realised you didnt talk about visible in mdl file, but in magos node manager) I made a wrong visible for last one... so now everything works, also guessed thanks for your reply, as you was actualy right in someway.. as the new I made wasnt in order but the old I fixed (wrongly) after particle add was... doh.

Only problem left is to figure out why it jumps when dying, but sure that because I animated it like that, and now going to redo all that again :smile:

Thanks for the help.

btw yes used milk and right exporter, explanation why it didnt work already said
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top