1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. Choose your ride to damnation in the 5th Special Effect Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The winners of the 13th Techtree Contest have been announced!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Trigger] Trigger Isnt working!

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by HeretoDLstuff, Jun 8, 2007.

  1. HeretoDLstuff

    HeretoDLstuff

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,093
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    • Storm
      • Events
        • Time - Every 25.00 seconds of game time
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Unit - Create 1 Dummy Unit for Player 1 (Red) at (Random point in Region 004 <gen>) facing Default building facing degrees
        • Set Stromcloud = (Last created unit)
        • Wait 2.00 seconds
        • Unit - Order Stromcloud to Orc Far Seer - Chain Lightning (Random unit from (Units in Region 004 <gen>))
        • Wait 15.00 seconds
        • Unit - Remove Stromcloud from the game


    That trigger isnot working, and ive checked over to see the dummy unit is set up right, but if you think I might be wrong, go ahead and suggest something.
     
  2. FamousPker49

    FamousPker49

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,640
    Resources:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    for soem reason whenever i tried to do "Unit-Order W/e unit to Mana burn random unit in whereever" it wouldn't work for me, but are u sure that dummy unit has the ability u r trying to cast cus that might be the problem but idk
     
  3. HeretoDLstuff

    HeretoDLstuff

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,093
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    He has the ability.
     
  4. FamousPker49

    FamousPker49

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,640
    Resources:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    maybe you will have to create some variables like a unit variable rather than selecting "random unit from units in region" just do that same thing but set it to a variable in teh begining and do the same for where the dummy unit is created
     
  5. edge[d1]

    edge[d1]

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Resources:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    try to change
    Random unit from (Units in Region 004 <gen>)
    to
    Random unit from (Units in Region 004 <gen> matching ( Owner of Matching Unit is an enemy of owner of Stormcloud unit)==true )
     
  6. HeretoDLstuff

    HeretoDLstuff

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,093
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    Lol....Should have thought of that..Still the thing wasnt working when the dummy unit was owned by creep team unstead of player 1 red..
     
  7. FamousPker49

    FamousPker49

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,640
    Resources:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    im working on it right now in WE gimme a sec lol
     
  8. -JonNny

    -JonNny

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    486
    Resources:
    12
    Icons:
    3
    Maps:
    4
    Spells:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    12
    Then get sure that the unit has enough mana to cast it and if the range of the spell is high enough to reach the target
     
  9. HeretoDLstuff

    HeretoDLstuff

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,093
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    I have a feeling my trigger IS working, and other triggers are screwing it up...Ill test more and see..
     
  10. FamousPker49

    FamousPker49

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,640
    Resources:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    EDIT: The problem was that in order to "Unit-Order Unit to Orc Farseer-Chain Lightning w/e unit" the unit u create has to be based on an Orc Far Seer with the Chain Lightinign ability as a normal "Unit" ability and all that then it will work
    • StormCloud
      • Events
        • Time - Every 10.00 seconds of game time
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Set TempPoint = (Center of Region 000 <gen>)
        • Unit - Create 1 StormCloud for Player 1 (Red) at TempPoint facing Default building facing degrees
        • Unit - Add a 10.00 second Generic expiration timer to (Last created unit)
        • Unit - Order (Last created unit) to Orc Far Seer - Chain Lightning (Random unit from (Units in Region 000 <gen>))
        • Custom script: call RemoveLocation (udg_TempPoint)
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2007
  11. HeretoDLstuff

    HeretoDLstuff

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,093
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    It allready WAS based of off far seer....that did change anything of how my trigger was. :sad:
     
  12. FamousPker49

    FamousPker49

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,640
    Resources:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    try the way my trigger is becuz the wait might be what is messing with urs but idk
     
  13. Lingonberryjam

    Lingonberryjam

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    230
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Just a hint here, the units doesnt have to be based on a far seer, the important with "Unit-Order Unit to Orc Farseer-Chain Lightning w/e unit" is that the spell your dummy has got to have (in the object editor):

    Text - Order String - Use/Turn On: chainlightning

    This is the Order you call to activate this spell. To activate it via trigger you use the "Unit-Order Unit to Orc Farseer-Chain Lightning w/e unit".

    This means that you can have a shockwave based spell, and change the orderstring to "chainlightning".

    Make sure the spells orderstring is set to chainlightning.

    If this wanst the problem, im not sure what it is.
     
  14. HeretoDLstuff

    HeretoDLstuff

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,093
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    Well, that shouldnt be the problem becuas it works sometimes.
     
  15. FamousPker49

    FamousPker49

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,640
    Resources:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    then if it works sometimes its the problem i said,which is if you do not remove the wait it will only work once, becuz i tested the trigger i put up there and it worked just the way it needed to
     
  16. DaFranker

    DaFranker

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Make sure that your trigger only picks units that the Chain Lightning spell CAN target. For example, if there are buildings in the target area, your dummy unit might randomly end up trying to cast Chain Lightning on a building, which will probably fail unless you allow the spell to be cast on buildings. That would be why sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't.

    Use "Unit Matching ( ( (Condition) AND (Condition) ) AND (Not Condition) )" or something similar if you need to weed out a few particular unit classifications.