Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Thumbnails and Preview models not updating.

Discussion in 'Site Discussion' started by HerrDave, Oct 7, 2015.

  1. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,095
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    I am convinced I am not the only one who is noticing this, but after updating the picture and mesh of a few models and waiting a few days I've noticed that the "View in 3d" model and the presentation picture have not changed, does someone on the hive have to manually say "Yes, approved, update." or is there some dreadful site lag?

    Plainly put I'd like to know how the updating system works here, why it hasn't been, and if there is anything I can do to hasten it.
    I don't like it when my pictures and view-models lie to users.
     
  2. Ralle

    Ralle

    Owner

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    11,462
    Resources:
    21
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    5
    Tutorials:
    14
    Resources:
    21
    Try clearing your browser cache.
     
  3. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,095
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    That appears to have done the trick.

    Thanks, man.
     
  4. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,128
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Just so people who stumble across this thread understand what is going on here is a brief explanation.

    To try and save bandwidth, web browsers will cache downloaded website data (images, scripts, data files etc) between views. This works because chances are you will stumble across the same resources again in the future which now do not need to be re-downloaded saving bandwidth (which costs money) and allowing the page to be loaded faster.

    Problems start to occur when data is cached in the browser and then changed on the server. Since data at the same address exists in the cache the web browser assumes it has the data already so does not download it. However it does not have the data (content is different) so the result is what the browser displays is different from what is on the server.

    The solution in this case is to clear your browser cache. Doing this means all web page data will need to be re-downloaded making sure that what you see reflects the data on the server. Under no circumstances do I recommend disabling caching as despite these downfalls it helps a lot reducing bandwidth and improving web page load times.

    Mechanically it should be using MD5/SHA hashes (transmitted at some stage during page load) to determine if a cached file is consistent with the server (hash mismatch means file needs to be downloaded). However I am not sure if such a system is used as web pages are fundamentally quite an old concept now.
     
  5. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Tutorial Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11,064
    Resources:
    18
    Icons:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    18
    I have heard ctrl + f5 works as well.
     
  6. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,303
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yeah, cache is great.
    However, do you know of any solution to force people to get the new updates to a site? Doing changes in the .html file does not always seem to work, doing just changes in a javascript file doesn't seem to cause the browser to find the new stuff,

    so..
    How do I force people to get a new version of a site while still letting them keep cache of the site when they already have the newest version?
     
  7. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,128
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Ctrl+Refresh should force you to redownload everything from a page ignoring cache.
     
  8. Ralle

    Ralle

    Owner

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    11,462
    Resources:
    21
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    5
    Tutorials:
    14
    Resources:
    21
    I already have planned a scheme to avoid this in future versions of the site by simply have a different URL every time an image is updated.
     
  9. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,952
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Just add a time stamp, like most sites do.