1. The mythological era has spawned some interesting characters around. Check them out and be sure to vote for them in the 30th Poll of the Texturing Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The 20th iteration of the Terraining Contest is upon us! Join and create exquisite Water Structures for it.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hivers united and created a bunch of 2v2 melee maps. Vote for the best in our Melee Mapping Contest #4 - Poll!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice

The AI Editor

Discussion in 'JASS/AI Scripts Tutorials' started by Av3n, Dec 29, 2006.

  1. Av3n

    Av3n

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    295
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    This tutorial is about the different parts of the .wai AI editor, how to configure conditions, the condition explaination. and also it will give a explaination about the functions. (How I'm going to write it is by the left)

    How to configure conditions
    To configure conditions right click where you want to configure it and bam there the option!

    The Conditions
    Well this part is currently being written so all things might not be there

    Base Conditions

    Boolean Condition: Condtion then ture or flase. Similar to the Trigger Editor one.

    Integer Condition: Condition then the amount. Similar to the Trigger Editor one.

    And Condition: Condition 1 and Condition 2. Both required to activate the string assigned to. Similar to the Trigger Editor one.

    Or Condition: Condition 1 or Condition 2. Any required to activate the string assigned to. Similar to the Trigger Editor one.

    Boolean Condition Triggers
    Most of these are pretty straight forward only the ones that are tricky I'll give an explaination for.

    Preset - Current game is single player

    Hero - Attack Captian is at Home: It means that the leader of an attack group is at base.

    Hero - Attack Captian is Retreating

    Hero - Attack Captian is at Goal

    Hero - Attack Group is Complete

    Hero - Attack Group is Empty

    Hero - Captian is in Combat: Any captian (Attack or Defense) is in combat.

    Misc - Creeps exist anywhere

    Town - Town is under attack

    Town - Town has mine: You have to put down the town number not an other trigger.

    Town - Town has Hall: You have to put down the town number not an other trigger.

    Town - Expansion Spot Needed


    Integer Condition Triggers
    Most of these are pretty straight forward only the ones that are tricky I'll give an explaination for.

    Preset - Maxium number of inventory slots (6)

    Preset - Maxium number of players (12)

    Preset - Maxium number of player slots(16)

    Arithmetric: Okay this is the combonation Integer Trigger and operator (+,-,x,/) and an other Integer Trigger. Simlilar to the Trigger editor one.

    Note that Commands are sent from the trigger editor

    Commands - Commands Waiting

    Commands - Last command sent: You can either remove or leave the last sent command.

    Commands - Last command data: You can either remove or leave the last sent command data.

    Hero -Attack Group Size

    Hero - Attack Group Health Level

    Hero - Attack Group Mana Level

    Misc - Current Attack Wave

    Misc - Melee Diffuculty Level

    Resources - Current Gold Amount

    Resources - Current Lumber Amount

    Resources - Total unmined Gold Owned

    Resources - Food used

    Resources - Food Produced

    Resources - Food Produced by unit type: The unit must produe food.

    Town - Number of Mines owned

    Town - Town with Mine: Using Town id.

    Town - Next expansion town: Using Town id.

    Unit - Total units of type:Owns an certian amount of an unit type.

    Unit - Total units of type - Completed Only: Owns an certian amount of an unit type completed.

    Unit - Total units of type - By Town: Owns an certian amount of an unit type completed or uncompleted in an town.

    Unit - Gold cost of Unit Type

    Unit - Lumber Cost of Unit Type

    Unit - Build time of Unit

    Upgrade - Current Upgrade level

    Upgrade - Gold cost of upgrade

    Upgrade - Lumber cost of upgrade


    The First Page
    On the first page there will be a AI name, race selector, behaviors, import custom data, and where to add conditions.

    AI%20conditions.JPG

    Name:This sets the name of your AI. (Check the box "Set Player Name" for this to work if your map has fixed player names.)

    Races: You can pick between Human, Orc, Undead and Night Elf. If you are using an custom race there is an Custom option for that. (For Custom import your Object Data from your map.)

    Behaviors: These are the Behaviors.

    Set Player Name: This shows the name of your AI even if it has a set player name on the map.
    Melee: This states if it is an melee AI.
    Defend Users: The AI will protect other players if they are attacked.
    Random Paths: The AI will pick paths in a more random fashon.
    Target Heroes: The AI will target enemy heroes more.
    Repair Structures: The AI will repair strcutures.
    Heroes Flee: The AI will retreat its hero if they are in a crictical condition.
    Units Flee: The AI will retreat its units if they are in a crictical condition.
    Groups Flee: The AI will retreat attacking groups if their are in a disadvantage.
    Have no Mercy: The AI will attack if the enemy has weaken units or at a disadvantage.
    Ignore Injured: The AI will ignore units under 50% when assembling attack forces.
    Remove Injuries: The AI will send injured units back to base or somewhere where it could heal.
    Take Items: Heroes will pick up useful items.
    Buy Items: Heroes will buy useful items.
    Slow Harvesting: Workers will harvest 1 gold or 1 lumber depending on their mining type.
    Allow Home Changes: The AI will pick new locations for an home base and retreating locations.
    Smart Artillery: The Ai siege units will seige enemy bases when possible.

    Custom Object Data Import/Export: This option allows you to Import and Export custom object data. The file type is .w3o.

    Conditions: This allows you to create conditions for building orders and attacking groups. It alsos allows you to edit and delete them as well.

    The Second Page
    This allows you to pick the heroes that your AI uses, the chance of getting them, and skill seletion.

    AI%20heroes.JPG

    Hero Selection: Allows you to pick the heroes your hero uses.

    Chances: The many combinations of the hero order compiled into chances. There are 6 chances for different hero orders.

    Skill Selection: The skill selection order for your hero. This allows you to select what skills they learn.

    The Thrid Page
    This page allows you to pick what is their town hall, thier mine building, harvesters, building order, and harvest priorities

    AI%20group.JPG

    Town Hall, Mine building, Harvesters: This allows you to pick thier Town Hall, Mine Building, and Harvesters.

    Building Order: The order of construction of your AI. Conditions are used here. The first building should be your town hall then your starting units.

    Harvest Priorities: These Prioirities is how much harvesters are to mine in its Towns.

    The Fourth Page
    This page allows you to add attack groups, order attack waves, and target priorities.

    AI%20order.JPG

    Attack Groups: This allows you to order the attack groups of the AI allowing you to order thier conditions and how much they send of each unit.

    Attack Waves: This makes the Attack Groups to be ordered in waves with a delay time, to add multiple waves of the same group add it again. Also it allows you to pick its minium forces, delay time before the first wave and repeat the attack wave.

    Attack Priorities: These priorities will order the AI which in want to do the top one will be its first priority, conditions will also be configued and minium units and maxium units to be used as well top enable flyers to join.

    The Last Page
    Lastly this page where you can observe your AI but if it has custom object data this cannot be done since it was designed for Melee AI observing.

    AI%20test.JPG

    Game Speed: Adjusts the game speed for observing your AI.

    Game Options: Allows you to disable fog of war and victory/defeat conditions.

    Map File: Sets the melee map for testing.

    Players: Sets the User (you) as an observer or you can play against your AI, at least 1 computer player must use your AI for testing if you want to see if you done everything correctly.


    Now I hope you got an better understanding of the .wai editor!'

    Other AI editing links
    Might help for those interested in triggering an AI via triggers, more advance detailed guide on the AI Editor or editing the .ai file directly.
    http://wc3campaigns.net/showthread.php?t=79638 (Arena: Trigger AI)
    http://wc3campaigns.net/showthread.php?t=87999 (Campaign AI)
    http://wc3campaigns.net/showthread.php?t=89199 (AI Editor)
    http://wc3campaigns.net/showthread.php?t=92915 (Incomplete but still good, AI Editor)

    -Av3n
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2008
  2. Archian

    Archian

    Site Director

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,698
    Resources:
    12
    Skins:
    1
    Tutorials:
    11
    Resources:
    12
    Sorry for my slow response.

    I Approve.
     
  3. Jaakko

    Jaakko

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,298
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    I have a guestion, can AI editor make AIs only for melee maps ? Can't they be used in custom maps?
     
  4. Av3n

    Av3n

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    295
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Well the A.I editor...
    I'll but it this way. The .ai file can be maulipulated for custom maps such as hero defenses, custom melee. Simple maps like that. Arenas and AoS's you'll have to controll the A.I with triggers as well because the ai might nt behave how would you wan it to behave.

    -Av3n
     
  5. Jaakko

    Jaakko

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,298
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    I mean that can the same AI also be run in a custom map, not only melee?
     
  6. Av3n

    Av3n

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    295
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Yea an a.i cn aso b runned on any map

    -Av3n
     
  7. Ham Ham

    Ham Ham

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,159
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    9
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    12
    In fact, an AI of the AI Editor just runs when the computer player have a base. AIs are only used on Melees and Custom Melees

    Nice tutorial for newcomers on the AI editor.
     
  8. Av3n

    Av3n

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    295
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Well try put an Firelord on the map. Add Firelord as the only unit in everything.(except the building section) and c if it still works

    -Av3n
     
  9. valkemiere

    valkemiere

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    How to make AI in custom map AOS type?
     
  10. Av3n

    Av3n

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    295
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Well if you want to make a Custom AI for a AoS thts something tht you shouldn't ask me, my A.I fields haven't widen yet.

    -Av3n
     
  11. wyrmlord

    wyrmlord

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    252
    Resources:
    5
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    5
    In a non-melee map, you should trigger the AI as the AI Editor has its limitations.
     
  12. valkemiere

    valkemiere

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    oh, i just wanna learn making AI in aos map. Because it more harder than make AI in hero arena.
     
  13. LudwigVonDrake

    LudwigVonDrake

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    eh si chuji wkwk

    yeah i wanna to learn to make AI for some of my games :eekani: but that things make my brain suffer :xxd:
     
  14. killacow

    killacow

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hero Selection

    I have been using the AI editor for a custom melee but....
    How would I fix the total number of hero's to 4
    I can get the AI to get 4 heros but....
    I cant choose the skills on the fourth hero how do i?
     
  15. Av3n

    Av3n

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    295
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Sorry for the late reply, unfortunately the AI Editor is very limited and doesn't allow the use of four heroes.

    Your only option here is the JASS AI it

    -Av3n
     
  16. Dark_Axl

    Dark_Axl

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Is there any other way to make AI for AOS other than using JASS?
    cause I think that will cause a heavy lag..
     
  17. Av3n

    Av3n

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    295
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    GUI if you really think JASS is ineffecient

    -Av3n
     
  18. lordolly

    lordolly

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    AI Heros

    you can make AI just for or a set of heros heros, if youi remove the starting units for the player (townhall,builders etc) you can add the hero you want in a attack group of its own, you might have to use triggers to initialize the attack wave but if you put the waves on with a wait time the hero will keep attacking after retreating for healing or defending users etc. i have tryed my own AI for a set of heros to go creeping even tho the AI doesnt have a base they retreat to a healing point then gop kill more creeps learning there abilities by themselves.:thumbs_up:
     
  19. Ardnived

    Ardnived

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    846
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    4
    How do you use the conditions I cant seem to find any button to add the conditions to unit types or building priorities
     
  20. Av3n

    Av3n

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    295
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Right CLICK the field and go down the till you find Modify Condition and click it, voila and you can add pre-set cnds or custom ones

    Hopefully that helps

    -Av3n