1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. The raddest synthwave tracks were chosen - Check out our Music Contest #12 - Results and congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Techtree vs Techweb

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Tutorials' started by Xonok, Jun 6, 2013.

  1. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,042
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    When making one of my projects in the past I came across a problem.

    I had 4 kinds of walls:
    Basic Wall(Horisontal)
    Basic Wall(Vertical)
    Basic Wall(Diagonal1)
    Basic Wall(Diagonal2)

    I needed to make a techtree requirement, that tells you to build a wall - any wall of the ones mentioned above.
    After a bit of thinking I came across a solution. (Click picture to enlarge)
    Wall Equivalent.JPG
    I created a new unit named "Basic Wall" and used used all the other Basic Wall types as the dependency equivalent. Then I made the techtree requirement take the "Basic Wall" unit, instead of any of the others. The "Basic Wall" unit would never be placed anywhere.

    Later on I realized, that I could use similar ways to create a sort of a techweb.
    Normally things are placed in a sort of a tree-shaped thing.
    [​IMG]

    However, through dependency equivalents you can make something like this(Click picture to enlarge):
    Techweb Example.JPG
    You can make E require O and (A or D).
    Or you can make O require ABCDEFGH, while A requires H or B, B requires C or A, C requires D or B, etc.
    You can literally go nuts with this possibility.
    Now comes the important question: How?

    It's actually quite simple. You make a unit that will never be trainable. Then you put all the Equivalent units in its dependency equivalents and use this unit for any dependencies you might need.
    Like this(Click picture to enlarge):
    Wall Equivalent.JPG
    The reason this works is that now whenever a game checks for your equivalent unit it also considers everything you've set as equivalents. Thus, you've effectively made a techtree requirement that contains a group of unit types.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 22, 2013
  2. PurgeandFire

    PurgeandFire

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,427
    Resources:
    18
    Icons:
    1
    Spells:
    4
    Tutorials:
    9
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    18
    Seems like an interesting tutorial to consider when planning an altered melee/RTS-style game. I like the theme.

    However, I feel that this area isn't really explained well:
    You should explain the problem you are trying to address a bit more, and then say how that modification addresses that problem completely. You state the problem and give a solution, but I wasn't able to understand what that solution actually did. It just seems a bit brief in that area. Fix that and I think it will be pretty much approvable.
     
  3. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,042
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    How about now?
     
  4. PurgeandFire

    PurgeandFire

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,427
    Resources:
    18
    Icons:
    1
    Spells:
    4
    Tutorials:
    9
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    18
    Thank you. Approved. :)
     
  5. Orcnet

    Orcnet

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    Very useful, I'm actually configuring a Boss or Titan(based from AoM) unit to be on this type of access. So I might use this someday.