• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Stacking buffs

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 5
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
104
try changing the order ID of one of the spells, or make one based on endurance aura, or make it based on that pandaren drunken thingy (forgot wat its called). also, i dont know but this may help, make it so both the buffs are based off different buffs in the buff editor.

u could try adding and removing dummy abilities as well, slightly bothersome but everything should become alot smoother if u do
 
Level 12
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
942
They already have different order IDs and bufs are based on different bufs.
One of my spells don't really need a buff, but I want the player to know that his unit have the spell on. There is a way to only add the buff that don't interfere the game?
 
Level 5
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
104
in that case im pretty sure it shouldnt conflict
which spells order IDs did you use?
and also, how did you make the buffs in the buff editor, did you base the buffs on the same buff?
also check all your triggers which involve buff removal, e.g. unit casts ability bla bla bla remove all buffs on unit <-- that sort of trigger
 
Level 12
Joined
Mar 16, 2006
Messages
992
Since they're both based off Bloodlost, the game thinks it's the same spell.

I would just trigger the buff/dummy spell.
 
Level 12
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
942
I made a dummy unit cast inner fire with that buff for me...

but about the questions:

- Blessing Buf (based in windwalk)
- Agility Buf (based in blodlust)
- Blessing skill (based in blodlust with innerfire orderid)
- Agility skill (based in blodlust with blodlust orderid)

now I changed blessing to be based in channel.
 
Level 12
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
942
PoZoR said:
lol did it work?
I'm using 3 skills:
- Blessing (based in channel with inerfire orderID)
- Agility (based in blodlust with blodlust orderID)
- Dummy (based in innerfire with innerfire orderID)

When my unit cast agility, the trigger do what its need to do, when cast blessing, a dummy caster spawns and cast my dummy spell on him.
Its working.
And ... what do the blessings do?
Blessing increase STR and INT by 2 for each ability level (its not working as intended http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/f269/trigger-does-not-work-100515/) and Agility increase Movement, flee and agility.
 
Level 12
Joined
Mar 16, 2006
Messages
992
Use triggers to add custom ITEM ABILITIES to the hero. As well as remove them when the timer is finished.

It will work.
 
Level 12
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
942
  • Increase Agi
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to Increase AGI (based in Bloodlust)
    • Actions
      • Unit - Add Spell Book (Increase AGI) to (Target unit of ability being cast)
      • Unit - Set level of Spell Book (Increase AGI) for (Target unit of ability being cast) to (Level of (Ability being cast) for (Triggering unit))
      • Unit - Set level of Increase AGI (based in Item Hero Stat Bonus) for (Target unit of ability being cast) to (Level of (Ability being cast) for (Triggering unit))
      • Player - Disable Spell Book (Increase AGI) for (Owner of (Target unit of ability being cast))
      • Trigger - Turn on Check AGI <gen>
  • Check AGI
    • Events
      • Time - Every 1.00 seconds of game time
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Custom script: set bj_wantDestroyGroup = true
      • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units in (Playable map area) matching ((Level of Spell Book (Increase AGI) for (Picked unit)) Greater than 0)) and do (Actions)
        • Loop - Actions
          • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
            • If - Conditions
              • (Picked unit) Equal to No unit
            • Then - Actions
              • Trigger - Turn off (This trigger)
            • Else - Actions
              • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
                • If - Conditions
                  • ((Picked unit) has buff Increase AGI (based in Bloodlust)) Equal to False
                • Then - Actions
                  • Unit - Remove Spell Book (Increase AGI) from (Picked unit)
                • Else - Actions
  • Blessing
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to Blessing (based in channel)
    • Actions
      • Unit - Add Blessing (based in Item Hero Stat Bonus) to (Target unit of ability being cast)
      • Unit - Set level of Blessing (based in Item Hero Stat Bonus) for (Target unit of ability being cast) to (Level of (Ability being cast) for (Triggering unit))
      • Set SpellPoint[0] = (Position of (Target unit of ability being cast))
      • Unit - Create 1 Dummy Caster for (Owner of (Triggering unit)) at SpellPoint[0] facing Default building facing degrees
      • Unit - Order (Last created unit) to Human Priest - Inner Fire (Target unit of ability being cast)
      • Unit - Add a 5.00 second Generic expiration timer to (Last created unit)
      • Special Effect - Create a special effect at SpellPoint[0] using Abilities\Spells\Human\Polymorph\PolyMorphDoneGround.mdl
      • Special Effect - Destroy (Last created special effect)
      • Sound - Play FaerieFireLaunch1 <gen> at 100.00% volume, located at SpellPoint[0] with Z offset 0.00
      • Sound - Destroy (Last played sound)
      • Trigger - Turn on Check Blessing <gen>
      • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_SpellPoint[0])
  • Check Blessing
    • Events
      • Time - Every 1.00 seconds of game time
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Game - Display to (All players) the text: This trigger is wor...
      • Custom script: set bj_wantDestroyGroup = true
      • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units in (Playable map area) matching ((Level of Blessing (based in Item Hero Stat Bonus) for (Picked unit)) Greater than 0)) and do (Actions)
        • Loop - Actions
          • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
            • If - Conditions
              • ((Picked unit) has buff Blessing (based in wind walk)) Equal to False
            • Then - Actions
              • Unit - Remove Blessing (based in Item Hero Stat Bonus) from (Picked unit)
              • Game - Display to (All players) the text: This trigger did so...
            • Else - Actions
              • Game - Display to (All players) the text: This trigger did no...
Obs: Since all the triggers wasn't working, I tried two different ways with them to see if at least, one works. The agility one uses an ability inside a spellbook.
 
Level 12
Joined
Mar 16, 2006
Messages
992
I don't even need to check the rest of the triggers.

Why are you adding a spellbook to the unit? You know item abilities aren't visually shown, right? You can just add the corresponding item abilities and remove them with a separate trigger. You only need 2 triggers to do so. One to give the buff and set the timer, and one to remove the buff after the timer runs out.
 
Level 5
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
106
  • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units in (Playable map area) matching ((Level of Blessing (based in Item Hero Stat Bonus) for (Picked unit)) Greater than 0)) and do (Actions)
You must change "Picked Unit" to "Matching Unit" because you're picking unit with matching condition.
 
Level 12
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
942
  • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units in (Playable map area) matching ((Level of Blessing (based in Item Hero Stat Bonus) for (Picked unit)) Greater than 0)) and do (Actions)
You must change "Picked Unit" to "Matching Unit" because you're picking unit with matching condition.

LOL I don't believe I did that again o.o
I need to stop using unit group... or learn how to use it...

Thanks...

@To: Vegavak
Maybe its because add flee? evasion have a passive button...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top