• Are you planning to upload your awesome tool to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    July 9, 2018: The rules for the Tool Section have been revised. Please be sure to read the revisions.

Quenching Mod (Latest v1.6)

This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
https://quenching.hiveworkshop.com/

What is Quenching Mod (QM) ?

QM is a versatility mod with lots of gaming functions, it's specially build for warcraft III 1.32 -

Let's cut to the point and have a quick look.

For gamers

- Support Reforged/Classic/RPG/Campaign/Melee/Worldeditor

- Graphic rendering enhancement (reforged only)

- Graphic assets replacement (reforged only)

- Camera/Gamma/Fog adjustment in melee game (reforged and classic)

- Units/Heroes skin change (reforged and limited classic)

- Key binding (reforged and classic)

- Experiment custom campaign (reforged and classic)

- Switchable new UI (reforged and classic)

- Special graphic mode (reforged only)

For developers

- Slope fix to 90 degrees

- Terraining assets and effect

- SD and HD model calculation fix

- custom campaign api (in progress)

How to install

- download QuenchingModCN.exe

- Copy to warcraft III root folder

- Run and choose [Install Mod]

- Wait until its success

- If network error try again after 10 minutes

How to update

- If the client has an update, there will be a hint

- Use [Check update] to get new patch

We will keep updating this tool for any new information
Previews
Contents

Quenching Mod v1.6 (Binary)

QuenchingMod v1.61 (Binary)

v1.5 fix 2 (Binary)

Reviews
eejin
The Quenching mod does a lot of things to improve upon WC3 Reforged and is therefore Approved! (The download contains two files, are they different versions? Perhaps one can be deleted.)
Level 2
Joined
Apr 11, 2021
Messages
10
This mod looks really good, I like it, but it downs performances. (That's maybe the reason why blizzard reduced the quality to release reforged)
 
Level 4
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
70
Love this tool. Nice to have more options both for hero and unit skins; i also suggest - if possible - making option for changing skins of particular units rather than changing whole set of units. Also even without using skin changer the tool is useful as an offline launcher since Blizzard blocked possibility to launch game via exe file; same goes for World Editor so it is good idea to add WE launch button.
One last thing, if I'm not asking for to much: version for Linux.
 
Last edited:

Zorrot

Hosted Project: QM
Level 11
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
116
Love this tool. Nice to have more options both for hero and unit skins; i also suggest - if possible - making option for changing skins of particular units rather than changing whole set of units. Also even without using skin changer the tool is useful as an offline launcher since Blizzard blocked possibility to launch game via exe file; same goes for World Editor so it is good idea to add WE launch button.
One last thing, if I'm not asking for to much: version for Linux.
Unitskin separate require lots of times, it may come after a long time
Adding launch button is cool
I'll figure out linux setup
 
Level 1
Joined
May 19, 2021
Messages
3
Fist of all,absolutely amazing work on the quenching mod,the graphics enhancements of the terrain are exactly what this game needed(i hve been using the melee mode set and its amazing how it makes the game look)
But i wanted to ask how are you able to apply custom skins on regular melee maps and rest of the game,normally you would have to make a custom map in the world editor with the injected model/skin for it to be applied.
More so i wanted to ask is it planed or even possible for quenching to have functionality for users of the mod,once it is installed,to be able to add other custom models/skins for heroes to the selection by themselves?

there are alot of cool reforged hd models and sd version models on this site,but the logistics of using them is so tedious,having to edit every singel map you want to use them on in the editor.While in quenching its like the ingame skin selector,you pick a skin and its applied everywhere.I think with the ability of useres being able to add additional models and skins to the skin selector list alongside the onese you made available to choose from,would just be amazing and greatly increase the ease of use and modding potential of the game.

Thanks again for your work on this mod,looking forwrad to future updates.
 

Zorrot

Hosted Project: QM
Level 11
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
116
Fist of all,absolutely amazing work on the quenching mod,the graphics enhancements of the terrain are exactly what this game needed(i hve been using the melee mode set and its amazing how it makes the game look)
But i wanted to ask how are you able to apply custom skins on regular melee maps and rest of the game,normally you would have to make a custom map in the world editor with the injected model/skin for it to be applied.
More so i wanted to ask is it planed or even possible for quenching to have functionality for users of the mod,once it is installed,to be able to add other custom models/skins for heroes to the selection by themselves?

there are alot of cool reforged hd models and sd version models on this site,but the logistics of using them is so tedious,having to edit every singel map you want to use them on in the editor.While in quenching its like the ingame skin selector,you pick a skin and its applied everywhere.I think with the ability of useres being able to add additional models and skins to the skin selector list alongside the onese you made available to choose from,would just be amazing and greatly increase the ease of use and modding potential of the game.

Thanks again for your work on this mod,looking forwrad to future updates.
I'm consider about this, but it's cost heavy load of work, thank you.
 
Level 3
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Messages
48
Well, first time trying to install the mod, I had some performance issues and tried to uninstall it to see if it was just me (after not starting the game for like 6 months), I ended up losing all my campaign and avatar progress and the old voiceover mod I installed is not working anymore. Is this problem fixable or do I have to replay the whole campaign again? I can just allyourbasearebelongtous it but I'd be stuck with no items every time I want to play a certain map...
 

Zorrot

Hosted Project: QM
Level 11
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
116
Well, first time trying to install the mod, I had some performance issues and tried to uninstall it to see if it was just me (after not starting the game for like 6 months), I ended up losing all my campaign and avatar progress and the old voiceover mod I installed is not working anymore. Is this problem fixable or do I have to replay the whole campaign again? I can just allyourbasearebelongtous it but I'd be stuck with no items every time I want to play a certain map...
Well in quenching mod there is a function call camp unlock, you don't have to install the whole mod but only client to run this feature, if you find lagging in performance, try to set shadow to middle or low
 
Level 1
Joined
Jul 13, 2021
Messages
3
every time you try to download an additional company in the application window, it starts copying files and just closes and that's it... this function does not work for some reason ((just closing without any warnings((
 
Level 2
Joined
Mar 26, 2019
Messages
9
Hi Zorrot, first of all great work with the editor. You should be hired by Blizzard. They actually need you. Now I can see that a lot of people were able to use your editor as it's easy and fool proof. I on the other hand am a different kind of fool and may need some explanation.
Your editor needs root folder and needs 1.32 or plus version. I have both but still it says wrong folder or version. since blizzard has updated Warcraft through their App I can not understand how to run your editor or even install it.

I have tried running your installer everywhere but to no luck.

Please help and guide me.
 

Attachments

  • Battle.net.PNG
    Battle.net.PNG
    432 KB · Views: 143
  • Main EXE.PNG
    Main EXE.PNG
    23.3 KB · Views: 143
  • this.PNG
    this.PNG
    38.7 KB · Views: 145

Zorrot

Hosted Project: QM
Level 11
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
116
this is some kind of mod manager right? like those from nexus
Well it's a mod itself but not a manager

Hi Zorrot, first of all great work with the editor. You should be hired by Blizzard. They actually need you. Now I can see that a lot of people were able to use your editor as it's easy and fool proof. I on the other hand am a different kind of fool and may need some explanation.
Your editor needs root folder and needs 1.32 or plus version. I have both but still it says wrong folder or version. since blizzard has updated Warcraft through their App I can not understand how to run your editor or even install it.

I have tried running your installer everywhere but to no luck.

Please help and guide me.
The root folder of warcraft III can be find in setting like this
1626744614542.png
 
Level 17
Joined
Feb 2, 2006
Messages
1,002
Some suggestions and issues:
  • Make it English by default. I had to change the language because it was Chinese or something.
  • Add an installer which preselects the Warcraft directory based on the registry entry and adds a Desktop icon, so I don't have to remember where the Warcraft III folder is.
  • The "Install Mod" step could be done automatically by default and there should be an option to uinstall/disable the mod. It is only necessary for all the custom textures? It takes some time to download all the stuff.
  • Clicking on "Custom" and seeing all the custom campaigns and then clicking on "Download on Hive" opens Hive in a custom browser which shows some script errors. You could use the system's default browser instead or automatically find a download link and let the user download the campaign file.
  • Loading my own custom campaign led to a crash of the mod and another time it just loaded it but I couldn't see it ingame, probably because the MOD was not downloaded before. Maybe disable the buttons until the mod is installed or create a tool for custom campaigns only.
  • Loading the Chosen One campaign file also closed the mod.
  • Another time it loaded the Chosen One campaign without closing the mod but when starting the game it closed the mod.
  • Why are there two .exe files and one updater?
  • For players the most useful feature might be custom campaigns in Warcraft III: Reforged. It is the only reason I downloaded this mod. Maybe fix/concentrate on this feature and allow players to load multiple campaign files which are then stored in a predefined list so you can choose which custom campaign you want to play. The players don't have to select them all the time from a directory. You could also allow selecting a directory and scanning it for custom campaigns and then extract the information of the names and autors etc. and make a list. This would simplify the handling. You could even go as far as using the old classic custom campaign folder in "C:\Users\XXX\Documents\Warcraft III", so players just have to place lots of campaign files there. I am not really interested in the other stuff of the mod which apparently has to be downloaded before (some textures etc.). I even would go as far as providing a mod called "Custom Campaign Mod for Warcraft III: Reforged". You would become the hero we need.
  • I could play my own custom campaign once without the program being closed.
Currently, I can play only certain custom campaigns with it since it closes automatically.
 

Zorrot

Hosted Project: QM
Level 11
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
116
Some suggestions and issues:
  • Make it English by default. I had to change the language because it was Chinese or something.
  • Add an installer which preselects the Warcraft directory based on the registry entry and adds a Desktop icon, so I don't have to remember where the Warcraft III folder is.
  • The "Install Mod" step could be done automatically by default and there should be an option to uinstall/disable the mod. It is only necessary for all the custom textures? It takes some time to download all the stuff.
  • Clicking on "Custom" and seeing all the custom campaigns and then clicking on "Download on Hive" opens Hive in a custom browser which shows some script errors. You could use the system's default browser instead or automatically find a download link and let the user download the campaign file.
  • Loading my own custom campaign led to a crash of the mod and another time it just loaded it but I couldn't see it ingame, probably because the MOD was not downloaded before. Maybe disable the buttons until the mod is installed or create a tool for custom campaigns only.
  • Loading the Chosen One campaign file also closed the mod.
  • Another time it loaded the Chosen One campaign without closing the mod but when starting the game it closed the mod.
  • Why are there two .exe files and one updater?
  • For players the most useful feature might be custom campaigns in Warcraft III: Reforged. It is the only reason I downloaded this mod. Maybe fix/concentrate on this feature and allow players to load multiple campaign files which are then stored in a predefined list so you can choose which custom campaign you want to play. The players don't have to select them all the time from a directory. You could also allow selecting a directory and scanning it for custom campaigns and then extract the information of the names and autors etc. and make a list. This would simplify the handling. You could even go as far as using the old classic custom campaign folder in "C:\Users\XXX\Documents\Warcraft III", so players just have to place lots of campaign files there. I am not really interested in the other stuff of the mod which apparently has to be downloaded before (some textures etc.). I even would go as far as providing a mod called "Custom Campaign Mod for Warcraft III: Reforged". You would become the hero we need.
  • I could play my own custom campaign once without the program being closed.
Currently, I can play only certain custom campaigns with it since it closes automatically.
You can't play a custom campaign which is:
1.Open in somewhere else like worldeditor
2.It's protected like the choosen one

I'll consider to make some imporvment in cc

It's could be good if it can find warcraft automaticly, but the unfortune is most of war3 player has many warcraft version so it's too easy to fail, and i've been asked for these question like thousands of times once quenching does have this feature.

thanks for your advice
 
Right off the bat, I love this mod. Thanks, @Zorrot! Would we expect localization for the revamp campaigns' titles, since they're written in Chinese? The "Prologue Campaign" text is too dark and can't easily be read because of the header image.

image0.png


Also, I love that you have the Blizzard UI, referencing the beta UI of the game. Though, I wish there was a "purist" version for it - the actions tab looked different from early screenshots.

warcraft-3-reforged-c.jpg


The health and mana bar looks different as well, and the map is right at the edge of the screen, whereas Quenching's "Blizzard" mode looks a bit different. Don't get me wrong, what is presented by this mod is marvelous. It is just a suggestion that I had in mind. I know not everyone likes the beta UI, specifically those who like to keep the remastering (at time) "grounded" to its original game.

Apologies if I haven't given enough actual feedback to this mod. Overall, this is a promising project. A 5/5 for me. :thumbs_up:
 

Zorrot

Hosted Project: QM
Level 11
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
116
The h
Right off the bat, I love this mod. Thanks, @Zorrot! Would we expect localization for the revamp campaigns' titles, since they're written in Chinese? The "Prologue Campaign" text is too dark and can't easily be read because of the header image.

View attachment 384733

Also, I love that you have the Blizzard UI, referencing the beta UI of the game. Though, I wish there was a "purist" version for it - the actions tab looked different from early screenshots.

warcraft-3-reforged-c.jpg


The health and mana bar looks different as well, and the map is right at the edge of the screen, whereas Quenching's "Blizzard" mode looks a bit different. Don't get me wrong, what is presented by this mod is marvelous. It is just a suggestion that I had in mind. I know not everyone likes the beta UI, specifically those who like to keep the remastering (at time) "grounded" to its original game.

Apologies if I haven't given enough actual feedback to this mod. Overall, this is a promising project. A 5/5 for me. :thumbs_up:
The health bar and other stuff is possible when implant to a special map but in globe setting, it will cause disconnection, it's a pity
If you read a English campaign, it will surely become english title!
 
Level 3
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
74
The h

The health bar and other stuff is possible when implant to a special map but in globe setting, it will cause disconnection, it's a pity
If you read a English campaign, it will surely become english title!
Didnt you change your Warcraft 3 Written language to Chinese?
 
Level 1
Joined
Aug 8, 2021
Messages
3
Does anyone know how to register new skins in this launcher? and then there are so many beautiful skins on this site, and there are very few in the launcher.
 
Level 1
Joined
Aug 8, 2021
Messages
3
well i have to add them one by one, maybe I'll make a custom way to add them
that would be great. there are models for every taste and color. everyone would find something individual for themselves. if I knew how to do it ...
 
Level 2
Joined
Aug 6, 2021
Messages
3
@Zorrot or anyone who is willing to help. I can download the file and move it to the root folder of WC but I can't read anything from there because its in Chinese or something and I do not know which steps to take. What do I do?
 
Level 2
Joined
Aug 6, 2021
Messages
3
Lol I am so lost. I run the QuenchingModCN Application and the install just never comes up. The QM setting tool shows up and loads then nothing else happens. I get a few notices in the other language which I still don't know how to change. Are you saying you can change it in the QM client? Its not showing up. Sorry I don't know what I'm doing.
 
Level 2
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
6
All works super fine i just only have this graphics bug with the Mod. only cliffs are affected. does anyone know how to fix this? i dont know if its a bug from the Mod or not.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot (1).png
    Screenshot (1).png
    8 MB · Views: 71
Level 5
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
116
For some reason, when I try to load my friends campaign from warcraft 1.26-1.27 version, the launcher crashes. Right now it crashes when loading .mp3 file Before it was crashing on TRIGSTR_489 and TRIGSTR_490, until I've deleted some maps from the campaing. I dunno what it this and it's even fixable? I Wanders of Sorceria are bugged with audio and hero voices too. It's seems we still need official custom campaign function.
 

Zorrot

Hosted Project: QM
Level 11
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
116
For some reason, when I try to load my friends campaign from warcraft 1.26-1.27 version, the launcher crashes. Right now it crashes when loading .mp3 file Before it was crashing on TRIGSTR_489 and TRIGSTR_490, until I've deleted some maps from the campaing. I dunno what it this and it's even fixable? I Wanders of Sorceria are bugged with audio and hero voices too. It's seems we still need official custom campaign function.
i'll make more compatiable solution in next patch, hope it will work
 
Level 3
Joined
Jun 23, 2016
Messages
54
All the destructibles in classic are invisible for some reason, most notably trees. Tried reinstalling but it didn't fix the issue
9b9dd3557018bd95e0b12e080515bb38.png
 
Level 3
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
24
Hei there. I started using the mod and I was wondering if I can add to the skin menu some of the models from hive to the heroes/units/building?
 
Level 3
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
24
well for now you can tell me about what you want, we are working on a custom skin system
Well you see i was thinking maby i was able to add some custom models for the heroes and units/building from hiveworkshop like for the heroes add the garrosh skin for BM for example or for the units for each races to have a list to change them individually example: the footman have some models (like the ones from chronicles of second war team) with human/dwarf/elf models to switch between them and so on. Just something that came to me while playing. Anyway still the work with the mod is great and i am loving using it
 
Level 4
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
70
Well you see i was thinking maby i was able to add some custom models for the heroes and units/building from hiveworkshop like for the heroes add the garrosh skin for BM for example or for the units for each races to have a list to change them individually example: the footman have some models (like the ones from chronicles of second war team) with human/dwarf/elf models to switch between them and so on. Just something that came to me while playing. Anyway still the work with the mod is great and i am loving using it
Actually I suggested this in my first post in this topic & Zorrot answered it just below.
 
Level 3
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
24
O I see! Indeed would be a huge undertaking to be able to have models for each unit maby even building. Maby making a sistem similar to the world editor to make it easy to import a model from hive. And in this way maby could have models for the entire horde to only be orcs (using the orc models from CSW team for example) or something like it giving the players the freedom to customize them in an unique way
 
Top