• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Possible project

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hi there, im new to this, got inspired to do a mod so ive been browsing engines, and it seems wc3 might be the one that lets me do what i want.

So on to the idea.

It is in short terms a battlefield mod, each player controls a hero and 1 squad.

at the start of each game the players buy their characters and units. its then a standard, to the death scenario.

The player is locked to chasecam on the character and has to use this view to control it and the squad.

The character has a couple of special attacks but compared to the whole squad, he wont be very powerful.

Each type of squad has its own set of special attacks, strengths and weaknesses.

So what im asking about is.

1. is there any real good unit grouping system? i know eleandor has made one, theres also one on youtube, whose inventor im trying to get a hold of at the moment.

2. chasecam, and a good controlsystem from that view, using wasd.

3. what is the maximum amount of players in wc3?

Level 2
1. i want the units to walk in formations, as in for example medieval 2
2. for example locking the camera to the players hero...

Level 2
1. you would have a bunch of units of the same type in a squad that walks in formations. the squad as a whole has a number of abilities that can be used.

2. thats what games are all about setting limitations, if everything was as easy as possible all you would need to do would be to press a button to win, limiting the camera, will make it harder to see the entire battle forcing people to speak to each other.