1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[JASS] OMG help!

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by Flame_Phoenix, Jun 13, 2008.

  1. spiwn

    spiwn

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,228
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well, yeah I kinda doubted that all 16382 indexes would have been used.
     
  2. Flame_Phoenix

    Flame_Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Resources:
    11
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    11
    This only started to happen when I added that DataSystem and sound systems made by grim00 and need_O2 ... do you think that may be the cause of the problem ?
     
  3. spiwn

    spiwn

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,228
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Atm I think that the systems work fine.
    The problem is incorrect usage.
    But haven't really studied the code of your spell nor the system too much up to now.
     
  4. Flame_Phoenix

    Flame_Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Resources:
    11
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    11
    OMG, incorrect usage ? how ??? where ?
     
  5. spiwn

    spiwn

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,228
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I will paraphrase: improper.
    Just thoughts, as I said.
     
  6. Flame_Phoenix

    Flame_Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Resources:
    11
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    11
    mmm, well, weird is that when I delete that DataSystem (i posted upthere) no matter what I do, the message doesn't appear ... although sometimes it seems to be bugged .. I am not sure...Is that a chance that the DataSystem conflicts with ABC ?
     
  7. Ciebron

    Ciebron

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    760
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    yeah i'v had problems with DataSystem too made some spells really buggy but no problems with ABC yet
     
  8. Flame_Phoenix

    Flame_Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Resources:
    11
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    11
    MMmm, than it is official DataSystem is a setter of problems ... I shall remove it from my map ... petty it was nice spell.. now i have to find another...
    Ciebron, can i use your spell on my map?
     
  9. Captain Griffen

    Captain Griffen

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,001
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    You could just install safety into the system using game cache (which it should have anyway). To fix the underlying problem, make sure you null handle variables at the end of functions.
     
  10. Flame_Phoenix

    Flame_Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Resources:
    11
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    11
    Well, that is the problem ... because those are imported spells which i didn't creates, there is little i can do to null them, because i don't know where to null them and how to do so.
    Thus my only reasonable option is to remove that system, among with spells using it =S
     
  11. Captain Griffen

    Captain Griffen

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,001
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    ...you don't actually seem to get the problem. The problem is not likely to be in stuff you've imported, but rather your code, BJs, etc.

    Learn JASS. And by learn it, I mean actually know what you're doing.
     
  12. Flame_Phoenix

    Flame_Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Resources:
    11
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    11
    .... Sorry to disappoint you, but the code I posted, uses nearly 0 BJ's ... It's only BJ is the trigger event .. and i really doubt that is much of a problem ...
     
  13. spiwn

    spiwn

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,228
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You can get rid of that too :)
    Just make sure you have 0 red function ;)
     
  14. Captain Griffen

    Captain Griffen

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,001
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    You still don't quite seem to have managed to get your head around the problem being a map-wide lack of nulling, not in specific cases.
     
  15. Ciebron

    Ciebron

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    760
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    ofc u can use my spell, i would be glad if u did :)
     
  16. PurplePoot

    PurplePoot

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    11,161
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    There's really no point to getting rid of TriggerRegisterAnyUnitEventBJ, unless you have several calls to it in the same initializer, and even then it's not a big deal.
     
  17. spiwn

    spiwn

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,228
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    So now you are ok to using a BJ :D
    About Atan2BJ you were not, and it is far more harmless(or so to speak) than TriggerRegisterAnyUnitEventBJ ;)
     
  18. Ciebron

    Ciebron

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    760
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Code (vJASS):
    function TriggerRegisterAnyUnitEventBJ takes trigger trig, playerunitevent whichEvent returns nothing
        local integer index

        set index = 0
        loop
            call TriggerRegisterPlayerUnitEvent(trig, Player(index), whichEvent, null)

            set index = index + 1
            exitwhen index == bj_MAX_PLAYER_SLOTS
        endloop
    endfunction


    Code (vJASS):
    function Atan2BJ takes real y, real x returns real
        return Atan2(y, x) * bj_RADTODEG
    endfunction


    enuff said....
     
  19. Flame_Phoenix

    Flame_Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Resources:
    11
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    11
    Conclusion: using 1 triggereventBJ on all my spell, can not cause the handle errors I experienced and will surely not freeze the game ... correct ?
     
  20. Ciebron

    Ciebron

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    760
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Code (vJASS):
    private constant real WIDTH = 900.0


    isnt i better just to do or just the same shit?
    Code (vJASS):
    private real WIDTH = 900.0