1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Rubbed the right way, the genie is out of its lamp! The 12th Concept Art Contest Results have been announced.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Odd Trigger Problem

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by Lee_Go, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. Lee_Go

    Lee_Go

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hi, I have a problem with this map i'm making and this sort of way of storing items... (its really simple)

    This is to open the storage...

    • Open Closet
      • Events
        • Unit - Villager (Male 2) 0011 <gen> Begins casting an ability
      • Conditions
        • (Ability being cast) Equal to Open Closet
      • Actions
        • Unit - Change ownership of Closet 0015 <gen> to Player 1 (Red) and Change color
        • Selection - Select Closet 0015 <gen>
        • Unit - Order Villager (Male 2) 0011 <gen> to Stop
        • Unit - Move Villager (Male 2) 0011 <gen> instantly to (Center of Equipment stance <gen>)
        • Unit - Make Villager (Male 2) 0011 <gen> face 1.00 over 0.00 seconds
        • Unit - Change ownership of Villager (Male 2) 0011 <gen> to Player 2 (Blue) and Retain color
        • Camera - Apply Closet Cam <gen> for Player 1 (Red) over 0.00 seconds
        • Trigger - Turn on Open Closet Extras <gen>

    • Open Closet Extras
      • Events
        • Time - Every 0.02 seconds of game time
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Camera - Apply Closet Cam <gen> for Player 1 (Red) over 0.00 seconds
        • Selection - Select Closet 0015 <gen>


    This is to close the storage...

    • Close Closet
      • Events
        • Unit - Closet 0015 <gen> Begins casting an ability
      • Conditions
        • (Ability being cast) Equal to Close Closet
      • Actions
        • Unit - Change ownership of Closet 0015 <gen> to Player 2 (Blue) and Change color
        • Unit - Change ownership of Villager (Male 2) 0011 <gen> to Player 1 (Red) and Retain color
        • Selection - Select Villager (Male 2) 0011 <gen>
        • Unit - Make Villager (Male 2) 0011 <gen> face 270.00 over 0.50 seconds
        • Trigger - Turn off Open Closet Extras <gen>
        • Camera - Apply cam reset <gen> for Player 1 (Red) over 1.00 seconds




    PROBLEM:
    For some reason this other trigger I have will make the same Actions occur when the Events are followed for these triggers...
    • Withdraw Carry Belt
      • Events
        • Unit - Closet 0015 <gen> Begins casting an ability
      • Conditions
        • (Ability being cast) Equal to Withdraw Carry Belt
      • Actions
        • Hero - Create Carry Belt and give it to Villager (Male 2) 0011 <gen>
        • Unit - Remove Withdraw Carry Belt from Closet 0015 <gen>
        • Unit - Add Store Carry Belt to Closet 0015 <gen>

    • Store Carry Belt
      • Events
        • Unit - Closet 0015 <gen> Begins casting an ability
      • Conditions
        • (Ability being cast) Equal to Store Carry Belt
      • Actions
        • Item - Remove (Item carried by Villager (Male 2) 0011 <gen> in slot 3)
        • Unit - Remove Store Carry Belt from Closet 0015 <gen>
        • Unit - Add Withdraw Carry Belt to Closet 0015 <gen>


    So when the Closet 0015 <gen> casts the ability Store Carry Belt it also does the actions if it was casting Close Closet ability...
    ??? why ???
     
  2. JeffreyQ

    JeffreyQ

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Do the both spell have the same order id?
     
  3. Lee_Go

    Lee_Go

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    See I was looking at that thinking it was that same with all the abilities, can you tell me what that is and means? I'm pretty sure I changed some of them from "roar" to "summonspiritwolf" just trying to use some that are spells with no selection. (Made more sense)
     
  4. JeffreyQ

    JeffreyQ

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    "Text - Order String - Use/Turn On" make sure each ability has different order string if they can be use on the same hero. It is basically an order to ask the hero to use that ability. If you have both abilities using the same order string on a hero. When you can ability A, it will order the hero to use the "order string" and since there are two of them, it will run two of the trigger.

    It doesn't matter what order string you put for spells. You can put carrionswarm for a target unit ability. But it is important to give good order strings to match your ability because if you have an AI, you can order them to use the custom ability properly.

    So is it the order string problem?
     
  5. Lee_Go

    Lee_Go

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hmm, I changed them all to different things, and it still seems to use both abilities at same time... what else could it be?
     
  6. skamigo

    skamigo

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    It's best to use channel for custom abilities, you can change it to unit target/point target/no target(instant) so you can basicly do anything with it, you only have to change the ID, which is Channel for standard
     
  7. tjordell

    tjordell

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    554
    Resources:
    5
    Icons:
    1
    Spells:
    4
    Resources:
    5
    Yeah cuz the order id in all spells are hardcoded (i think). To fix that you should use the ability "Channel" as the main spell.
    This may help: Conans Channel Tutorial