Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Norton thinks Starcraft II is a virus.

Discussion in 'StarCraft I & II' started by Cihparg, May 9, 2010.

  1. Cihparg

    Cihparg

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    958
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Well, thats what it says.

    I don't have very much more to say, but if you are going to install Starcraft II, your norton may pop up with an virus alert.

    And no, I am not using a cracked version, I'm using the one from:
    http://eu.battle.net/

    ~ Bleble
     
  2. tagg1080

    tagg1080

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I will say all that can be said:

    "lol"
     
  3. Kimbo

    Kimbo

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    7,647
    Resources:
    144
    Models:
    18
    Icons:
    110
    Packs:
    3
    Skins:
    9
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    144
    Sorry, didnt happen for me.
     
  4. Infinitynexus

    Infinitynexus

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Resources:
    13
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    12
    Resources:
    13
    Guess what? It's fucking Norton.

    Uninstall that crap and get something reliable.
     
  5. kimpakim7

    kimpakim7

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Norton 2010 is very reliable, and it doesn't screw your computer like past versions did.

    It didn't tell me anything!
     
  6. Zorga

    Zorga

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    94
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Unistall Norton -> Problem solved.

    Norton is a really crappy firewall...

    Your better off with the free version of Zonealarm and/or the free version of AVG!
     
  7. Tleno

    Tleno

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,782
    Resources:
    2
    StarCraft II Resources:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Don't you know that AVG once tough Warcraft 3 system files are virus?
    These both antivirus are said to be Bllizardphobic (altrough it never happened to me), but anyway you can report to Norton about the problem.
     
  8. tagg1080

    tagg1080

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Or just avoid watching porn and not have to worry about virus software?
     
  9. Tleno

    Tleno

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,782
    Resources:
    2
    StarCraft II Resources:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    No, its a fake alert, not a virus.
     
  10. CYrusmaster

    CYrusmaster

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I use AVG and i am doing fine playing both SC2 and WC3. Anyways even WoW works without, you fucker playing blizzard? pops out...
     
  11. Mepper

    Mepper

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    This is why I don't use Norton anymore, too many false alarms and it uses WAAAY too much memory. I switched over to McAffee for a year and now I use AVG Free.
     
  12. Grey Nightmare

    Grey Nightmare

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,852
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    AVG FTW! No seriously, never had a virus on laptop or pc for the last two years I've used the 'free' version. Sure it picks up some JNGP stuff as viruses, this is good, it means it recognises potentially harmful file types.

    I've heard bad stuff about Norton, but haven't used it myself.
     
  13. kimpakim7

    kimpakim7

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Norton were really bad before they released their 2010 package. Now they don't take any performance from the computer at all, at least very little ^^
     
  14. Avex

    Avex

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,385
    Resources:
    11
    Icons:
    8
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    11
    Yeah, I have '10 and it didnt do anything for me.
     
  15. Omniferous

    Omniferous

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I think we all know this simply isn't an option.
     
  16. killer1390

    killer1390

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0

    No, do not uninstall. It will give you many many viruses if you do.
     
  17. tagg1080

    tagg1080

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I lol'd
     
  18. shadonavan

    shadonavan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    306
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    first let me say HAHAHAHA omniferous that is funny as hell!!!!!

    Now that thats out of the way.....Offgraphic one of a few things happened.

    1.You downloaded sc2 from an "unofficial" source and now you have a virus. In which case it serves you right dont pirate games.

    2.Norton is stupid and says its a virus. This scenario is very likely as everyone knows norton is a piece of crap.

    3. Blizzard has put a virus in sc2. If that is true i will take all the money i have and burn it becuase obviously big corporations can no longer be trusted!!

    I will leave it up to you all to decide which is the most likely!
     
  19. Bu113t

    Bu113t

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Why not just post in his thread then? and ye norton is just stupid.
     
  20. Mechanical Man

    Mechanical Man

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,384
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    30
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    39
    I don't even bother with antivirus :)