• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • ✅ The POLL for Hive's Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Vote for the TOP 3 SKINS! 🔗Click here to cast your vote!

[Solved] Need help making an Immolate-like spell that scales off of Intelligence.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
85
Allright, so I basically want to create a spell that is ...toggleable? togglable? ..that you can turn on and off that deals the [intelligence of a hero/2] (plus something that scales with ability level) to all surrounding enemies every half second.

Kind of like this:

Forum1.png
Forum2.png


This trigger basically works HOWEVER the loop stops whenever the caster cast's any other spell (no idea why) and I haven't found a way to fix this.

Is there a way to fix this or maybe a whole other way to get this working? :D

Note that the trigger checks for a buff to continue the loop. I think this is where the error happens.
 

Chaosy

Tutorial Reviewer
Level 40
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
13,203
1. Post the trigger properly with trigger tags. There is a tutorial for this as well.
2. Remove "do nothing", leave it blank instead.
3. remove "skip remaining actions", leave it blank
4. the ImmoDMG variable wont work because casting unit wont work in that scenario since it only works with the trigger where the event it. You will need a variable to transfer the caster between the two triggers.
 
Level 4
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
85
First of all, thank you for the quick reply :) And sorry for tagging the forum wrong :p

I did the changes you suggested. My casting unit is now specified as SpellCaster in the first trigger and all the (casting unit)s have been replaced with the variable.

The trigger, however, still stops whenever I cast another trigger-based spell (even if the trigger is'n related in any way)!

Here's an example of a spell that stops the loop:

Unbenannt.png
 
Level 11
Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
730
Allright, so I basically want to create a spell that is ...toggleable? togglable? ..that you can turn on and off that deals the [intelligence of a hero/2] (plus something that scales with ability level) to all surrounding enemies every half second.

install JNPG or else you couldn't open this map. Enjoy it fully works with options. No leaks. you may use as more immolatuion units as your CPU memory allows.
 

Attachments

  • IMMOLATION DAMAGES BY INT.w3x
    15.1 KB · Views: 50
Last edited:
Level 11
Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
730
JASSHelper apparently found errors on your map. It says to wait. It's been like that for some time now. Is that normal?
It because i use functions in JNPG. You should install it. It's enhanced version of basic WE. Basic WE can't determine it that causes error.
I recommended you to use my example, because it's general way.
 
Level 4
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
85
I thought I installed it and I opened the map with the NewGen WE. When I load the map some errors pop up.
Maybe i downloaded something wrong... gimme a sec :D


Edit: I definitely installed the right thing. Jass NewGen Pack 5d

It gives me some error messages when i load your map.

"Trigger function does not exist in database: InitHashtableBJ"
"Trigger function does not exist in database: GetLastCreatedHashtableBJ"
"Trigger function does not exist in database: SaveRealBJ"
 
Last edited:
Level 4
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
85
I just want my Immolation spell to work ._. is there no way of making my old trigger work? I don't ever use JASS or any of that fancy stuff anyway :D This whole JNPG thing is causing more problems then is solves xP

I'll keep trying to get the editor to work with your map nontheless.
 
Level 4
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
85
So I need to buy the game a second time then from the blizzard store? That would suck, I alredy paid for it. :/
Or will a cracked version cut it? (I guess I can get one since I alredy bought the game)

I don't want to go through the whole process of changing the language again. I remember it painfully complicated.
 
Level 4
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
85
Okay...allright... I just rebought and reinstalled the whole game. Thankfully it's alredy on the latest version.

I tried starting the last file you posted with the regular Editor. It didn't work but It just crashed the WE instead of showing me errors.

Should I try the whole JNPG process again?
 
Level 4
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
85
I did. It's still not working but I get different error messages this time.

The second version you posted just crashes the editor.

The first one gives these messages:

"Trigger function does not exist in database: DestroyGroup"
"Trigger function does not exist in database: peratorGreaterEq"
"Trigger function does not exist in database: RealBJ"
"Trigger function does not exist in database:"
"Trigger function does not exist in database: peratorCompareBoolean"
"Trigger function does not exist in database: numUnit"
"Trigger function does not exist in database: L? (there's some kind of upper case L)"
"Trigger function does not exist in database:"

"This application has encountered a critical error:

There's not enough memory for this command.*

Program: F:\Programme\Blizzard\Warcraft III\worldedit121.exe
Object: .PAVCWETriggerFunction@@



Press OK to terminate the application"

*translated


PS: My WC3 version is apparently 1.27 now.


Edit: Trying screenshot instructions now.
 
Level 11
Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
730
On the third screenshot, what Integer do you mean in "Set real= Load 1 of integer from HASHTABLE"?
i set it in custom script just below comment "THIS SCRIPT DETERMINES UNITS ID AS "integer"
this integer is name of variable, you need to create it. this variable shows unit's unique ID number.
 

Attachments

  • W5.jpg
    W5.jpg
    40.5 KB · Views: 86
Level 4
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
85
Okay. I copied the whole thing.

Couldn't help but notice your method also checks for a buff. Isn't that what we're trying to avoid?

Also: The map won't start ._.

PS: Really appreciate all the help you're giving me. But i think i'm just gonna step down a notch and try to solve it with my own trigger since I actually understand what's going on there and it's a lot simpler. If I don't get it to work, i'll just think of some other kind of INT-scaling AOE spell.

I don't want to be stuck on this forever^^
 
Level 4
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
85
This map works! :D Thanks a lot, i will be able to tweak it a little and put it on my map :)

Let's hope my other ability doesn't screw it up again

Last question: Is there a way to add a special effect to the damaged units like the original immolation would? I haven't been able to do this right.

EDIT: Tried it out on my main map. Didn't work with my custom immolation spell but worked with the regular one, so I just replaced the dummy spell. Everything working perfect now! Thanks a lot!
 
Last edited:
Level 8
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
486
You could save the effect to the unit's handle using the hashtable and then later destroying it when you need to. Alternatively, you could add the effect every time your spell deals damage but this would depend on what type of effect you're after (the ultimate of DotA's Leshrac has a similar ability that plays a special effect on all damaged units each second If I recall).
 
Level 41
Joined
Feb 27, 2007
Messages
5,208
Okay...allright... I just rebought and reinstalled the whole game. Thankfully it's alredy on the latest version.
OH NO! you can probably refund it. If you still have the CD key from your original copy of the game, you can register it to your Battle.net account and then download the game installers from the "Classic Games" tab, which is even pre-patched. This installer has saved my life numerous times because you no longer need the CD or key, and you can do the same for copies of StarCraft, Diablo, etc.
 
Level 11
Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
730
Okay :) Pretty late here aswell.

Can't thank you enough for the trigger :) Was stuck at this for quite a while

Here is a variant with special effect. It contains two ways of making an effect.
1st is use special effect variable it forces you to made addtional variables and create additional HASH table. Plus effect fades within certain time.
2st is based on custom Sphere ability. This one is more "submassive", but you should remember that creating more custom abilities makes loading map longer
To choose between way you must find in trigger PICK EVERY 001 action "Run ACTION RUN" and change a way you like, I definetly recommended 2nd variant.
 

Attachments

  • IMMOLATION DAMAGES BY INT11.w3x
    20.1 KB · Views: 43
Level 4
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
85
Here is a variant with special effect. It contains two ways of making an effect.
1st is use special effect variable it forces you to made addtional variables and create additional HASH table. Plus effect fades within certain time.
2st is based on custom Sphere ability. This one is more "submassive", but you should remember that creating more custom abilities makes loading map longer
To choose between way you must find in trigger PICK EVERY 001 action "Run ACTION RUN" and change a way you like, I definetly recommended 2nd variant.

The trigger runs perfectly on the map you put it on. It's not dealing damage on my own map after I imported it though. Currently looking into that. I went with the second variant.
 
Level 4
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
85
I got the damage to work now but now the special effect is not there xD All I did was replace the Immolation spell with my custom spell (based off of immolation) and delete the RUN ACTION 1 trigger.

Oh. And I changed the damage and range of the ability in the RUN ACTION 2 trigger.

What do you mean "what you've got on my map"? You mean my custom immolation spell?

Edit: Since the spell also has a flat damage amount per ability level, can't I just leave that on the ability itself? That would also spawn the effect. All problems would be solved. Gonna try that out.
 
Last edited:
Level 11
Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
730
I got the damage to work now
You said your trigger doesn't work in your map, so I asked you to show me your trigger to understand what do you need.
Now I see your spell is working now. You choosed RUN ACTION 2 so you can delete part with special effects and all variables connected with special effects, beacuse you choose custom sphere ability.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top