1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Warcraft] My Return And SotDRP News

Discussion in 'Roleplaying' started by Saken, Nov 12, 2009.

  1. Azeroc

    Azeroc

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Copying triggers are few clicks, importing all models are few clicks too. Same for Object Data.
     
  2. Saken

    Saken

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    426
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Once object data and stuff is imported, that means I have to go back and redo a lot of **** that gets messed up by the resizing. I.E. the piers and the column interiors in Vanguard. Requiem uses a lot more **** that has its sizes and tints altered, like I made some green rock chunks, the waterfalls are slightly tinted and are all custom sized, all spires are custom sized, big and small. There's plenty more as well, but those are some of the main ones. Also unless I hear from Blackcat, I'll just go ahead and remove models that arn't needed, and add in my own. I have a good enough eye and taste in good models, so I won't need to be told what to take out and what to put in.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 20, 2009
  3. Belgarath

    Belgarath

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Resources:
    10
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    cool stuff, if a new proper version of sotdrp gets released ie, non narks i might get back into rping some time.
    btw if you place about 15k doodads in one spot then you'll get lag in game and out of game and the whole model spam into a massive THING

    also, i suggest making a shrub and flower 'dood' ie a destructible. would be a lot better instead of making masses of units.
    (probably with var's 1-2/1-4)
     
  4. Azeroc

    Azeroc

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Also Bloodstorm, in sotdrp you can also tint water, just using command "watertint xxx xxx xxx xxx"
     
  5. BloodStorm2262

    BloodStorm2262

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Resources:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    lol paint as in place legitimate water (rivers, lakes, etc.), not change the color
     
  6. Saken

    Saken

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    426
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    You can accomplish that by lowering the ground with the height command, then placing the floating water buildings/units in the area, sizing them up, and tinting them the appropriate color. It's what I do when I make rivers.

    I plan on making flowers and shrubs destructible, so the remove tree command works on them as well, I understand that it can discourage builders sometimes, however being an exceptional builder myself, I always find a way around it by covering it up with a building of some sort.

    Also, maybe you shouldn't put so many doodads in one spot in the first place? If it's a problem of people ruining the game on purpose, I can't help out on that part, because all games will have jack asses who will come along just to ruin the game. Sorry for the inconvience.
     
  7. Azeroc

    Azeroc

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If I make city i just make little gardens on those un-removable props. But you could make em not only destructible, but also make that units can't target em - only remove tree command would remove em.
     
  8. Jak-The-Ripper

    Jak-The-Ripper

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Saken, since you`re not on MSN, here`s a comment in this thread.

    As me and Jakku discussed, I`m always open to helping out in SotDRP, and doing smaller things in the code like optimization, because I`m sure most of that GUI can be JASS'd.

    Get on MSN, WC3, or we can talk in PM.
     
  9. Saken

    Saken

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    426
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    I'll do my best to fix this.
     
  10. Cobra-Wolf-Demo

    Cobra-Wolf-Demo

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm waiting patiently for your map, Saken.
     
  11. RoleplayingKing

    RoleplayingKing

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    165
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    SotDRPX? Sounds interesting. Maybe we can finally get some good SotDRP maps on the board. Good luck with your work.
     
  12. Jak-The-Ripper

    Jak-The-Ripper

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well, just so I can feel special, here`s an update from what Saken told me last night ^^:

    He`s going to run out of doodads in the near future.

    The limit is approaching.
     
  13. Saken

    Saken

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    426
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Basically my old outdated WEU told me I hit the destrutible doodad limit which is just over 6k somewhere, so I removed some useless rockchunks I had spammed in a canyon to make room, because I can always use rock spires and shrubs to make a better canyon anyways. So it gave me some breathing room, but it'd only be enough to MAYBE finish the jungle, which can be seen in bottom middle/left in the updated screen shot on my profile.
     
  14. takakenji

    takakenji

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,419
    Resources:
    27
    Models:
    23
    Icons:
    4
    Resources:
    27
    get jass newgen and all your problems will be solved.

    btw, it needs more cave interiors.
     
  15. Azeroc

    Azeroc

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    WEU is very bugged, JASS NewGen is epic and can breach limits.
     
  16. Saken

    Saken

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    426
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Link? And I'll be that much closer to finishing this terrain, not to mention making it that much better. Besides, all I used/needed WEU for was terraining, nothing fancy or trigger wise.
     
  17. Azeroc

    Azeroc

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  18. LightxKira

    LightxKira

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Cant wait for it to come out!!!

    One thing, alot of people love to crash SotDRP's by giving a morphed illidan mirror image
    can you fix that? or is that some thing with the model itself?
     
  19. Jak-The-Ripper

    Jak-The-Ripper

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks for telling half of the trolls on the forum how to crash a game.
     
  20. Saken

    Saken

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    426
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    That's one of the easiest crash ones anyways. I believe it was fixed in the most up-to-date version of my finished Vanguard anyways, (Which isn't released yet.) That, and a few other known crashes should be fixed as well. And I back up my map all the time, but thanks again Azeroc.

    Also, I work tommorrow, but after that, I'll be off for a few days, so I'll have plenty of time to get the hang of this new World Editor and get some progress done on the map. I doubt I'll finish Requiem, but I'll for sure get the jungle area finished (Bottom middle), hell, I bet the only thing I'll need to do is the interiors and islands with all the time I'll have these next few days.