Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Model Shading Problem

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by HerrDave, Sep 27, 2014.

  1. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,095
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    So I intend to upload zis here orc model soon, problem is that in the compression something happened to his head, whot!

    The polygons that meet up across the top of his head have been 'stitched' shut/together via Magos' model editor, but for some reason his forehead has a shadow that stops at the top of his head.

    Have a look, see?

    The shadow is most prominent when zoomed out, invisible up close (which is what I work at thus I didn't notice it until it was being tested in-game)

    I am at a complete loss as to how to fix this, and I don't intend to shut off shaders entirely to have a glow-in-the-dark orc. T'would be silly.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Kwaliti

    Kwaliti

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,275
    Resources:
    27
    Models:
    11
    Icons:
    5
    Skins:
    9
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    27
    Geometry normals are probably screwed up. The caveman method I used is to open up Vertex Modifier and shift vertices in the offending areas one by one on all axes by 1, then shifting back by -1, effectively resetting their position and forcing normals to be recalculated.
     
  3. NhazUl

    NhazUl

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Resources:
    8
    Models:
    7
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    8
    No, it's just that above the ogre face on the texture there is another ogre face and you have caught the shaded part of its jaw in your orc's forehead. Just open the model in MdlVis and wrap the top vertices of the head a little lower on the texture so that the forehead does not include the shaded region.
     
  4. Hayate

    Hayate

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,517
    Resources:
    66
    Models:
    51
    Icons:
    14
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    wrapping issues perhaps?
     
  5. BlinkBoy

    BlinkBoy

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,108
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    12
    that's called a seam problem. It's normaly fixed by reunwrapping, reprojecting old wrap into the new one and then fixing up the generated texture.
     
  6. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,095
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    Would'st thou runnest that by me again in smaller words, good sir :D

    I tried that just now and it helped a little, but didn't solve the problem. Now I can zoom out a bit more before the line crosses his forehead, but at the same range as before the line thickens into a hair-band of death, whot.
     
  7. NhazUl

    NhazUl

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Resources:
    8
    Models:
    7
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    8
    Yeah well, Blizzard drew the texture so that a perfect seamless wrap is impossible. Just put some hair in-between or add a helmet.
     
  8. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,095
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    Shit-eth, whot. Well thanks for putting it clear to me, NhazUl!