• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Melee Map With Enforced Random Heroes (Tavern Editing Help)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
I'm a complete novice at the editor and probably won't advance much but wanted to develop "random hero" melee maps. What this means is when you build your hero in the altar (or equivalent) or tavern, you now only have the option of building a random hero that will select from the game's 24 pre-set available heroes (4 per race + 8 neutral). So the basic mechanic is that, like in a normal melee map, after altar is completed you may build your first random hero; once you upgrade your townhall you may build your second random hero, and onto Tier 3 the 3rd random hero.

I was able to find some code from Normalice/Ugri that did this and successfully plagerized it although guys on this site stated it is sloppy it at least works. It essentially uses the GUI for making the code and doesn't use the elegant JASS method.

What the code doesn't have is how to apply these mods to a tavern: just like in a melee map, I'd like to have the ability to purchase a random hero from the tavern instead of though your altar. I am unsure how to do this currently as I've only tried a few things and both failed.

I've attached the map I'm working on, but if anyone has tips/pointers on how to make the tavern produce a random hero I'm all ears!

Attachments

• (8)GoldRushRandHeroes.w3x
    401.8 KB · Views: 44
Level 2
I do not know how to do it, but i had an idea:
*Create a new custom unit (hero).
*Make the altars to only train this unit.
*Create the necessary triggers to transform any of that units, to a random hero.