1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Weave light to take you to your highest hopes - the 6th Special Effect Contest is here!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

MDL/X Converter for Reforged Models

Discussion in 'Warcraft Editing Tools' started by Footman16, Apr 27, 2020.

  1. Footman16

    Footman16

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,007
    Resources:
    8
    Models:
    1
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    6
    Resources:
    8
    I've tried using the MDLX converter on this site on the Blood Elf Lieutenant model to convert it to .mdl however it doesn't seem to work and throws up some error.

    So is there another tool that can easily convert reforged mdx to mdl? I need to make models able to use multiple skins.
     
  2. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,922
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    There is no such thing as Reforged MDL (unless a Blizzard employee can say otherwise).
    In addition, tools that came before Reforged such as MDLX Converter won't be able to read the MDX at all.

    If you still feel the need to text edit models, it means the existing tools are simply inadequate. Did you try Retera's model studio? (it's in this subforum)
     
  3. Footman16

    Footman16

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,007
    Resources:
    8
    Models:
    1
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    6
    Resources:
    8
    Didnt say there was.

    I decided to give up on finding a simple MDXL converter and just got reteras model studio it works, plus i can maybe start doing/learning some basic modelling whilst im at it.
     
  4. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,922
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    By no Reforged MDL I mean there are just no new keywords and values (that I know of) for Reforged.
    If you have a model with a FaceFX face animation, or a PopcornFX particle emitter, or a Reforged geoset/material, there is just no way to convert that to MDL that is legit MDL the game can read.
     
  5. Footman16

    Footman16

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,007
    Resources:
    8
    Models:
    1
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    6
    Resources:
    8
    I only wanted .mdl format models so I could easily change the texture paths, but Retera's model studio works so I'm just using that.
     
  6. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,922
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Just as an update - catch me by surprise, because Reforged does actually have new MDL tokens.
    I made a simple MDX<->MDL converter client, maybe I'll add it to my viewer garbage bin, although I still believe you should prefer to use a proper program and not MDL (and if the program is not good enough for you, pester its creator to improve it :p)
     
  7. Macadamia

    Macadamia

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    860
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @Footman16 : I would still recommend you to follow this thread closely Model Optimizer and Converter v1.1.3 as @loktar is working hard on releasing a tool that will support proper MDL tokens.
    The difference between "official " MDL tokens and those @Retera had to "guess" might still be problematic, but the tool is bound to become a reference.

    For someone who often likes to do some quick MDL editing on models, this is godsend.
     
  8. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,922
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    We did end up testing the new MDL tokens (not the made up ones), and they all work.
    I have a simple converter at MDX <-> MDL but there are probably still small problems like missing flags or what not.
    I am assuming Retera already updated his code or will do so in the near future.
    That being said, editing MDLs directly is still silly.
     
  9. Macadamia

    Macadamia

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    860
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yes I understand what you mean.
    But to be honest, there is no tool for model editing that I currently master.
    I can't afford 3dsmax, don't want to get a pirated copy, love the idea of Blender but I feel like a 3-year old trying to drive a Bus.

    I am learning, but at a slow pace because modeling is just a fraction of all the work I do in my map.
    There are still small things that are much easier for me to do in Notepad++ on MDL files, but I don't mean to always work this way.

    For the moment, the only tools I feel comfortable with are Retera's MSRH, Magos's Model Editor and .. Notepad++ :D

    Should I still learn basic animation with MDLVis ? I like Reforged (well lat least let's say the parts that work), but I am not obsessed with it, and I don't think I need the new tokens to build simple geometric models for the moment.
     
  10. Footman16

    Footman16

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,007
    Resources:
    8
    Models:
    1
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    6
    Resources:
    8
    I mean for editing texture paths mdl editing is definitely the fastest/easiest way I've found if you want one model to use multiple skins but maybe I'm mistaken.