1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Making a unit unable to move

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by NBalfa, Feb 22, 2014.

  1. NBalfa

    NBalfa

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I have been working on a spell and at the beginning of it i am making the caster invulnerable and i want him to be unable to move for the duration of the spell. i have tried to ensnare, entangle and web the unit with a dummy but it doesn't seem to work. also i would prefer that the unit remains unpaused for the duration of the spell for the obvious buff duration reasons
     
  2. Mapas

    Mapas

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    128
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Create a tornado slow aura dummy ability with the desired movement reduction (100% percent), create a spellbook to store it and hide the spellbook via trigger, add the spellbook with the tornado slow aura dummy ability to the desired target, wait the desired time or trigger when it wears off, afterwards remove the spellbook and remove the buff.
     
  3. NBalfa

    NBalfa

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    forgot to mention that i would prefer the minimum movementspeed to be higher than 0 (100 or so) unless if it is possible to trigger the ms so that it remains higher than 100 in every other situation (havent checked that )
     
  4. Ezekiel12

    Ezekiel12

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,053
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Use SetUnitPropWindow( unit, 0)

    You might want to use GetUnitPropWindow(unit) before to be able to reset it to its original value.
     
  5. NBalfa

    NBalfa

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    thanks a ton
     
  6. IcemanBo

    IcemanBo

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,181
    Resources:
    22
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    11
    Template:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    3
    Resources:
    22
    To reset use this call SetUnitPropWindow(unit, GetUnitDefaultPropWindow(unit)*bj_RADTODEG )
     
  7. NBalfa

    NBalfa

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    i last question that it just came to me: are there any abilities that can change the unit prop window? (asking because i want to test how they would interact with these commands)
     
  8. Adiktuz

    Adiktuz

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    9,674
    Resources:
    23
    Models:
    2
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    16
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    23
    PS: The tornado slow aura is hidden by default, so no need to put it inside a hidden spellbook
     
  9. Maker

    Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9,193
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    14
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    17
    Maybe some rooting ability like Entangle could work.
     
  10. BPower

    BPower

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,741
    Resources:
    21
    Spells:
    15
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    5
    Resources:
    21
    Entagle also has the benefit that it is easy breakable with for example avatar.