1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[General] Making a doodad walkable

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by sniper_zero, Nov 14, 2015.

  1. sniper_zero

    sniper_zero

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    How do I make a doodad walkable? I need to make this doodad's walkways and upper floors standable.

    BE Doodad
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Flux

    Flux

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2,333
    Resources:
    28
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    19
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    I think you can't. You've got no choice but to use Destructables which can be walkable. Create a custom destructable based on Ramp, Bridge, or invisible platform. Then create a custom pathing so that you can control which part can units only move, or just block them with pathing blockers.
     
  3. Veritas 117

    Veritas 117

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You could make that doodad a destructible and then tick the box for walkable in the object editor. Unfortunately this would mean the units would automatically walk on the roof of the upper platforms. It basically takes your unit to the highest possible point on the model if it is walkable.
     
  4. sniper_zero

    sniper_zero

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    I see...then with regards to the custom pathing, how can I make it incorporate height?
     
  5. Veritas 117

    Veritas 117

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Your best bet is to use invisible platforms which can be found in the object editor under Bridges/Ramps in the Destructibles tab.

    You can raise them and lower them using ctrl+PageUp and ctrl+PageDown. Another great thing you can do is change the pitch/roll angle using negative values to set them at the preferred angle. The angles are measured in radians where 180 degrees is 3.14 radians (I think) so common angles to set the pitch and roll to would be -.78 for 45 degrees or -.5 for a lower slope etc.

    You can set a negative value by holding shift when you double click the field you want to change. If you want to see what the invisible platforms look like (since they are invisible) replace the model with something visible and put them where you want them and then re-replace the model with the invisible platform model.
     
  6. sniper_zero

    sniper_zero

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    It seems to be what I'm looking for. Just to confirm but the pitch angle of the platforms will also affect the units walking over it right?

    EDIT: Btw...what was it that I needed to press to make a group of doodads have the same height?
     
  7. Veritas 117

    Veritas 117

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Press Y to make everything have the same height. And yes, if you put the platforms at an angle units walking on it will follow that angle. I use this technique to make custom stairs.
     
  8. sniper_zero

    sniper_zero

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
  9. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,793
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    12
    You can make the entire model walkable by making it a destructable. Then simply block of "unwalkable" spots in the model with normal pathing blockers.

    That looks much cleaner than the reverse (unwalkable model, walkable with platforms).
     
  10. Veritas 117

    Veritas 117

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I agree that it would be ideal to do that but when you get to the top platforms with the roof over it your unit will walk on the roof rather than the platform.
     
  11. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,793
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    12
    Right... forgot about that.

    Btw, how about splitting the doodad into several components? I could imagine the engine having issues with such high poly models anyway. Also, you probably want the rooftop parts to go transparent when you walk under them, so you got to do that anyway.
     
  12. jopi

    jopi

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    267
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    EDIT: lol, just read what zwiebelchen wrote before me.... nvm. :)

    well you could also, take the model and cut it into several pieces in a model editor (e.g. mdlvis). For example you could make all the parts that are directly walkable or below it one model and every roof a seperate model which you place back into the right position in the WC3 editor by hand. With this you could also make a system that detects if your hero is in an area where a roof is above it and then make the roof transparent sou you can see through it.
     
  13. sniper_zero

    sniper_zero

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    I may just do that. I only really enough doodads to make a nice throne room anyway.
     
  14. Lions_Blood

    Lions_Blood

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Bump, Did it work?