1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Lost WC3 map file, any potential recovery options?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by freesouthkorea, May 22, 2020.

  1. freesouthkorea

    freesouthkorea

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I shut my computer down before my map finished saving (I think thats what happened), and now world editor wont load the file.

    I am getting the following error when attempting to open with world editor:

    'Unable to load map file : blah blehm blarhk,...
    --Main map file could not be opened'

    I've tried extracting MPQs but they apparently cant be found. It does look like there is still data in the file (the filesize is what it should be).

    If I cant recover this I've lost 2 months of good work. Damn. A lesson to always backup.
     
  2. Macadamia

    Macadamia

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    687
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    As WE can't open your file, I suppose you have not tried to test it since.

    If you go to your temporary folder (type %Temp% in Windows's search bar) your last working version of the map might still be there as "WorldEditTestMap.w3x".

    I hope it will be.

    Good luck !
     
  3. freesouthkorea

    freesouthkorea

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    dam. overwrote it trying something else. it probably was there.
     
  4. Macadamia

    Macadamia

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    687
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Really sorry to hear that, I would have told you before if I had seen this message earlier :(
     
  5. freesouthkorea

    freesouthkorea

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    yep. thanks anyways. learned a lesson.

    thankfully I didnt add *too* much over the past 2 months
     
  6. BloodSoul

    BloodSoul

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    What's your WE and Warcraft versions? If it's one of those that come with JassHelper, then there's a folder where JassHelper backs up a lot of recent saves.

    Check these paths:

    ...\Documents\Warcraft III\JassHelper\backups
    ...\WEX\profiles\Warcraft III - World Editor (WEX)\plugins\JassHelper\backups
    ...\JNGP\backups
     
  7. freesouthkorea

    freesouthkorea

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    unfortunately all of these were corrupted as well