• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Jump Spell Boundary

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 5
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
161
Gonna have a lot of generic trigger questions over the next few weeks as its a lot more complicated than I was ready for.

So in my map I'm using Paladon's jump system, its pretty terrific except my map makes heavy use of boundaries to kind of zone off areas. How would I go about preventing anyone from using this jump ability to jump over a boundary and into an area I hadn't intended the player to be in yet
 
Level 5
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
161
  • Events
    • Unit - A unit Begins casting an ability
  • Conditions
    • (Ability being cast) Equal to Jump
  • Actions
    • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
      • If - Conditions
        • (Terrain pathing at (Target point of ability being cast) of type Walkability is off) Equal to True
      • Then - Actions
        • Unit - Order (Casting unit) to Stop
      • Else - Actions

Ok this is what I did, and solved another problem I was having (Didn't want people making jumps into water and such) so thanks for that, however I think I need a different if/then/else to fix the main issue.

Let's say I have 5 squared areas sectioned off in a map using thin (lets assume for space sake they need to be thin) lines of the terrain "boundary".

1-4 in each corner, and 5 in the center, which I will also refer to as HQ.

If I have a mission in mind for each numbered corner, and they are in a chronological order, I can't have people hopping from 1 to any other number, I can't let them jump over the boundary into playable space they shouldn't be allowed to access yet. Or to jump from HQ to any of the other areas they aren't supposed to have been dispatched to. Or to jump back to HQ to heal and jump into play zone again. I need to prevent this from happening.

I was thinking maybe something along the lines of "If player casts jump in region to another region, stop"

but I'm not sure.

And as far as the trigger as it is now, is it sloppy, is the "not walkable point" going to cause a leak, and will the trigger still prevent jumping if two or three people at a time attempt it?

Thanks a lot btw
 
Level 21
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
3,232
Making it with different zones will have to be done the way you mentioned, which is through ITEs.
Currently you have a point leak because "Target point of ability being cast" creates a point and you're not destroying it anywhere.(or even putting it in a variable, so you would be able to clean the leak)
 
Level 21
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
3,232
Turning collision on doesn't immediately snap the unit's position into pathable ground. It would have to be done by making Paladon's jump system use the GUI action for changing a unit's position, but that would make it impossible to jump over things at all and be very expensive.
 
Level 5
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
161
Ok, I'm using an if/then/else

Can't seem to find a variable for "Casting unit in region" to start it off with. I did change my casting point to a variable, still works, can't remember custom script to remove but I'll look at the tutorial on here in a sec then the no jump in water is covered.

Any help on my region to region trigger? Thanks fellas. Don't really understand the no collision part so I'm gonna stay out that haha
 
Level 5
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
161
Yeah it was right under boolean my bad buddy haha

Hmm. I guess Im trying to make the target point has to be in the same region as the castor, I'm sure thats a true false thing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top