1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

How do you have multiple maps on a battlenet game?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by cal823, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. cal823

    cal823

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I have looked and looked, and cannot find out how map makers create multiplayer games with multiple maps in them.
    I have heard people say it is impossible yet I have seen it done on multiple maps.
    Some examples are Cruiser Commander and Aliens 2.
     
  2. ap0calypse

    ap0calypse

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,780
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    I don't know those maps, so I'll just ask a few questions:
    - Do these games load other maps while still in the same map? (really... loading, with loading screen and everything).
    - If the above statement is false, does the minimap change? (if it's a custom minimap and it remains the same, it also counts as "not changing").

    I have tried to load another map in multiplayer with my friend and we both got kicked to single player.
    It is impossible to load another map as far as I know.

    The only thing you can do is change the camera boundaries, so you cannot move your camera outside a box, making it look like an entirely new terrain, while it actually is still the same map.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
  3. JansiGX

    JansiGX

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    290
    Resources:
    7
    Maps:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    Cruiser Commander uses the method ap0calypse just said.
    Minimap is all black so you can't see where you really are. And well made zoom effect gives impression that there are 2 different maps with 2 different environments.
     
  4. cookies4you

    cookies4you

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You can also use ubersplats as a load screen, covering the whole screen with a screen that screams "LoAdInG, I Ist AwSum!" instead of the standard "Loading, I am so Boring". Just import your own ubersplat to create a loading screen ingame
     
  5. cal823

    cal823

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Okay, that answers my question. Here is another question.
    How does larger maps than possible in normal world editor perform on bnet?
    And also, If I used something like say, world editor unlimited, would all the terrain tiles work?
     
  6. MortAr

    MortAr

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,768
    Resources:
    7
    Icons:
    6
    Packs:
    1
    Resources:
    7
    1. Maps that are over 4MB's works bad, with increased loading time, and realy slowly downloading time. Size is not that big factor, the matter is how many things you have into and onto the map.

    2. Don't ever use WE:U.
     
  7. ap0calypse

    ap0calypse

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,780
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    1. Map Size or File Size?
    I think he meant map size (like 256x256), but I'm not really sure either...
    Well, a larger map doesn't do much in general, but because it's bigger it's only normal that it contains more units, doodads, props etc. and those can cause lag for players with a slower PC.

    2. Completely true, use JNGP instead if you want the terraining-options of WEU without the inefficient triggers, utilities.