• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[Melee] How comparable is unity to the warcraft 3 map editor?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
i was an old time veteran mapmaker, and want to take that creativity to the next level. as such i am right now downloading unity, and want to see how far i can take it without giving up. i don't expect to be making super complex games anytime soon but of course finishing SOMETHING is the whole point.

do you guys know if there is a system similar to the gui-triggers system from world editor in unity? because that would mean i don't need to learn how to code :0 that would be good news.

Level 31
i was an old time veteran mapmaker, and want to take that creativity to the next level. as such i am right now downloading unity, and want to see how far i can take it without giving up. i don't expect to be making super complex games anytime soon but of course finishing SOMETHING is the whole point.

do you guys know if there is a system similar to the gui-triggers system from world editor in unity? because that would mean i don't need to learn how to code :0 that would be good news.

i don't think so, unity is a totaly different engine.

Level 25
It's shares that both use 3D.
Unity does contain Drag-'n-drop items, but the code is in either C# or JavaScript. Your choice.

So yeah, ur gonna have to code it. Or join a project and help with what you can.

Level 11
With Unity, if you are doing everything yourself (for Free), then yes you are gonna be using C#, Javascript, or BooScript (pfft) to script everything.
You can make 2D games in Unity, as well as 3D.