1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Hosted LAN maps do not show up for friend but his show up for me

Discussion in 'Warcraft Discussion' started by santyclause, May 7, 2019.

  1. santyclause

    santyclause

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    After a host of problems with Warcraft 3 that started after we installed the patch 1.30.4, both my friend and I have done a fresh install of the game and now there is a new problem. Whenever I host a LAN game, it just never shows up for him. I was hosting just fine some time before the reinstall but now the only games that show up are ones he hosts. I can join his games just fine.

    We have both tried disabling firewall and other antivirus programs but that has not done anything and neither has running as admin. We are on the same version (1.30.4) , same OS (Windows 10), and are indeed on the same network. As mentioned before, this is also after a complete reinstall.

    How can I get my games to show up for him?
     
  2. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,667
    Resources:
    22
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    22
    Have you installed Bonjour? It should ask you when you try to enter the LAN menu. If so, maybe try on the PTR and see if it works there.

    I've had some problems with LAN as well. For me, the game would show but when I joined it would kick both computers from the match and close the lobby.
     
  3. santyclause

    santyclause

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I have yeah. Went and tried the PTR as well and the issue persisted. We went and tried some other things too, involving getting a third computer involved. Turns out, my games only don't show up on his but they show up fine on the third computer. Games he hosts show up for me and the 3rd computer, games the third computer hosts show up for both me and him, but games I host only show up on the 3rd computer. It seems like it's something on his side but we can't figure it out for the life of us.
     
  4. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,748
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Can you still play LAN on the same CD-Key?
    I think it still has to do with firewall and the game being excepted by Windows.
    Just try mimicking your OS and game settings with his.
     
  5. santyclause

    santyclause

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    We were prior to the update and even after I can still join games he hosts.

    I have felt the same way but we have thoroughly looked over firewall rules, exemptions, and all else. Both turned it completely off at multiple points.

    We have in every way we can think of so far, such as matching the port used in-game (and also making them not match).