1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Travel to distant realms and encounter scenes unknown to the common folk. The Greatest of Adventures is upon us with the 8th Cinematic Contest. Join in on a fun ride.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The 18th Icon Contest is ON! Choose any ingame unit and give him/her Hero abilities. Good luck to all.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Contestants are to create a scene set in the Stone Age. Come and see what you can come up with. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Colour outside the lines! Techtree Contest #13 is a go. The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Greetings cerebrates, our Swarm needs new spawners that will have numerous children. Join the HIVE's 31st Modeling Contest - Spawners and Spawned! The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[General] Give more CPU time to certain player?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Cheezeman, May 6, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Cheezeman

    Cheezeman

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Hey.

    I got a problem with my map. There's a computer controlled player that handles all the enemies. The game regulary spawns in units for this player. If my user-controlled players can't kill them fast enough, they can grow quite numerous.

    When there are around 100 enemy units on the map, some of them stop moving for a second or two. Around 200 units they start getting stuck behind each other because there are so many units not moving.

    IIRC this is because wc3 allocates a certain amount of CPU time per player. One solution is to just let more computer players control the enemy units. A better solution would be to give more CPU time to the existing one.

    Is this achievable? Can I tell wc3 to allocate more resources to a certain player?
     
  2. DracoL1ch

    DracoL1ch

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,758
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    you can't, only blizzard can
     
  3. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,609
    Resources:
    18
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    18
    Use less units, it is probably bad game design to have that many enemies.
     
  4. nedio95

    nedio95

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,055
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    What if he is doing "1 vs. 1,000,000" in war3 ?
     
  5. Ivorywinter

    Ivorywinter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    the usual solution is to split it across multiple computer enemies, which is all the more doable now that there's 24 slots
     
  6. Cheezeman

    Cheezeman

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Yeah lol. 300 spartans vs Xerxes' Persian army. Or maybe Custer's Last Stand. Who's this jerk to judge what's good game design or not?

    Yeah I figured that was the only solution. The enemy is now controlled by 3 computer players and all units move smoothly.
     
  7. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,476
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    No it is not...
    That is the only solution. One can help reduce the issue by simplifying terrain pathing as well as reducing unit collision size but both of these have gameplay consequences.
    This does not make any sense. As far as I am aware Warcraft III does not have any kind of scheduling/time management logic.

    Warcraft III is written to calculate movement instructions for each player every game frame. Each movement instruction is a vector with a sufficient length so as to allow many units to move fluidly at once. Move instructions last until either the end of the vector is reached, or the unit collides with something like another unit. It is possible it calculates many movement instructions per player per game frame, but it is hard to tell/measure and ultimately the source of the limit is a finite number of movement calculations per player per unit time.

    The reason path finding is done this way is likely to place an absolute limit on complexity of the path finder logic while still being fair between players. Games like StarCraft II which have no such limits are well known to perform like garbage when 4,000 units are moving around.

    Nothing to do with CPU time slot management. Warcraft III is not an operating system.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2018
  8. DracoL1ch

    DracoL1ch

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,758
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    he literally just said he did that by separating a player by 3 players and it worked out