1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[General] Give more CPU time to certain player?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Cheezeman, May 6, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Cheezeman

    Cheezeman

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Hey.

    I got a problem with my map. There's a computer controlled player that handles all the enemies. The game regulary spawns in units for this player. If my user-controlled players can't kill them fast enough, they can grow quite numerous.

    When there are around 100 enemy units on the map, some of them stop moving for a second or two. Around 200 units they start getting stuck behind each other because there are so many units not moving.

    IIRC this is because wc3 allocates a certain amount of CPU time per player. One solution is to just let more computer players control the enemy units. A better solution would be to give more CPU time to the existing one.

    Is this achievable? Can I tell wc3 to allocate more resources to a certain player?
     
  2. DracoL1ch

    DracoL1ch

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,758
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    you can't, only blizzard can
     
  3. Chaosy

    Chaosy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10,611
    Resources:
    18
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    18
    Use less units, it is probably bad game design to have that many enemies.
     
  4. nedio95

    nedio95

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,055
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    What if he is doing "1 vs. 1,000,000" in war3 ?
     
  5. Ivorywinter

    Ivorywinter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    the usual solution is to split it across multiple computer enemies, which is all the more doable now that there's 24 slots
     
  6. Cheezeman

    Cheezeman

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Yeah lol. 300 spartans vs Xerxes' Persian army. Or maybe Custer's Last Stand. Who's this jerk to judge what's good game design or not?

    Yeah I figured that was the only solution. The enemy is now controlled by 3 computer players and all units move smoothly.
     
  7. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,547
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    No it is not...
    That is the only solution. One can help reduce the issue by simplifying terrain pathing as well as reducing unit collision size but both of these have gameplay consequences.
    This does not make any sense. As far as I am aware Warcraft III does not have any kind of scheduling/time management logic.

    Warcraft III is written to calculate movement instructions for each player every game frame. Each movement instruction is a vector with a sufficient length so as to allow many units to move fluidly at once. Move instructions last until either the end of the vector is reached, or the unit collides with something like another unit. It is possible it calculates many movement instructions per player per game frame, but it is hard to tell/measure and ultimately the source of the limit is a finite number of movement calculations per player per unit time.

    The reason path finding is done this way is likely to place an absolute limit on complexity of the path finder logic while still being fair between players. Games like StarCraft II which have no such limits are well known to perform like garbage when 4,000 units are moving around.

    Nothing to do with CPU time slot management. Warcraft III is not an operating system.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2018
  8. DracoL1ch

    DracoL1ch

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,758
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    he literally just said he did that by separating a player by 3 players and it worked out