1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Ride into the sunset with the 32nd Modeling Contest. The contest is optionally paired. Best of luck, people!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. This adventure has come to an end. Congratulate our heroes in the 16th Mini Mapping Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. From the gates of hell, the 5th Special Effect Contest Results have emerged.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Get location of pings?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Zhall, Feb 16, 2014.

  1. Zhall

    Zhall

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    So I'm thinking about doing a map for the upcoming map contest.

    And I just need to know if i can get the location of map pings.

    I SWEAR IT WONT BE A PING SPAM FEST.. I mean, ofc that's what it will be. lawl
     
  2. vypur85

    vypur85

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    158
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    As far as I know, you cannot get the location of pings.
     
  3. WaterKnight

    WaterKnight

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,033
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    5
    No, you cannot. There is no event for that nor other functions/effects that would make it identifyable.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2014
  4. DysfunctionaI

    DysfunctionaI

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    281
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You can simulate a ping and catch it in an event.

    Dummy skill, Channel, point cast, cast range 999999. That would be your 'ping'. The skill would allow you to cast it on the minimap, so then you could get the location of the 'ping' and then do
    call PingMinimapEx
    . You could even replace the model of the that ping to the real player ping (the expanding circles with the exclamation mark in the middle) and play the ringing sound.

    Also, about the ping spam-fest, you can always type "/hideminimapsignals" :p