1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Disable Triggers, Save, Enable Triggers. Triggers aren't enabled though?

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by Titanhex, Nov 30, 2010.

  1. Titanhex

    Titanhex

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,007
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Okay so I've been having problems with my map. If I activate an "!external call macro" it doesn't finish saving and just tells me "Out of Memory" However it doesn't crash (But does slow comp down) and the map does save (But doesn't run).

    I noticed that if I disabled/deleted many of the scripts in my map, it'd save properly after doing an external call.

    I disabled a bunch of the triggers, saved, and then closed and opened my map. I then enabled all of the triggers. Now it's acting like the triggers weren't enabled when I test the map!

    I use a modified JNGP. Everything is manually up-to-date on it though. It's provided here.

    So then anyone know what the problem is and why it's doing this? I even tried disabling the trigger I added and it still acted that way.

    If you believe you can help, then here's the map: Though you may have trouble opening it with the AddSpecialEffectTarget() call.

    EDIT: The map stopped working after I imported http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/jass-functions-413/vjass-system-unit-properties-142012/

    Though I doubt it was simply the importing of this that did it.

    I've also recently found out when I try to save it to a new location it acts like it's saving with an external call.

    EDIT2: After disabling all the systems and the triggers that use them, the triggers still do not turn on. The problem must then lie in the way the maps are being compiled during save OR the problem lies in the map's internal initializing scripts (the ones I don't know how to access because they don't show up in the Trigger Editor :\)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 1, 2010
  2. HaniBon

    HaniBon

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    464
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Some scripts might be knocking each other out. If you have a system that calls a code that another system also does, they will malfunction.
     
  3. Titanhex

    Titanhex

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,007
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    But then disabling the new system should cause them to function again. But even after disabling the system the triggers don't work. There's some viability to this though as UnitProperties uses it's own GetUnitId and so does AutoIndex. But still, disabling should fix it.

    These are all systems I've used together before in a another map. The exception would be the new UnitProperties I added. However, the map was having save issues even before I added UnitPropertiaes. However all I had in it was KnockBack from RisingDusk and it's required libraries (AutoIndex, BoundSentinel, TerrainPathability, Last Order, all manually updated), Table and XE 8.0 as well as SimError (Very basic thing.)

    EDIT: New information in the first post under EDIT2
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2010
  4. SanKakU

    SanKakU

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    well, i wouldn't trust that system so easily since it claims to give you control over the armor of a unit, which i don't know how that is possible.

    ohh man...you should clean your trigger editor up a bit. you have far too many categories. about 70!! i know your map is probably far from finished, but my mostly done map has 4 categories! the one i'm far from finishing probably has less than 20. will comment more after examining more of your map.

    ah...it is as i feared...that system indeed makes a bunch of objects for use with the system...simply disabling the trigger won't undo everything that installing the system did.

    perhaps some of the object raw id numbers overwrote something.

    oh and, i never saw + in a raw id number. is that an error? ^ ^

    i personally don't trust a single .lua using system out there, i'd write my own if only i knew how to write one. but then it might end up as trustworthy as it's predecessors.
     
  5. Titanhex

    Titanhex

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,007
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Looks like I'll have to fix up those categories. That'll make transferring them to a new map to reverse the problem a lot easier.

    The only other system like this I can use is an older version of BonusMod. Otherwise the newer version has to run external calls on every save. Unless I can fix that problem (Which happened before this system was implemented) then I have to use an older version.

    I've also been condensing and breaking down some things like the triggers, so that they can be moved around and executed easier with less code.

    UPDATE: Finished condensing all triggers. Am attempting to import them over to a new map.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2010
  6. SanKakU

    SanKakU

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    oh....youre mentioning issues with saving the map? i'm not sure, but you might need to comment out object external creation stuff....hmm...i think you edited your op a lot...anyway...my opinion of the .lua systems...they're difficult to use and don't give back enough to be worth the time invested in them. :/

    hmmm...internal initializing scripts...i think i know what that is...
    that's like preplaced units and stuff! i've had problems with those from time to time. best solution is to minimize or eradicate preplaced units on the terrain and place them yourself with jass. but this is just a guess from me. it could be something else. i think it happens sometimes when you try to use gg_ in your codes...not 100% positive, though.
     
  7. Titanhex

    Titanhex

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,007
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    It may be an issue with my compiler. If you can save the map yourself and it still runs like it should (You can pick your hero) then it's likely my compiler, though I have nothing that proves or disproves that theory yet.

    I'll see if I can eliminate all those preplaced units. I've been working on doing that actually. Perhaps that's one reason for the issues.

    What's unusual is that the DEBUG functions I created still work for the map. Also, if I import all the scripts from the Broken Map to an older, working version manually (Copy and Paste) then the map bugs.

    Thus I conclude it's the scripts that cause the saving issues AND the issue where the triggers fail to run. When you move scripts over and the game fails then it's obviously those scripts.

    Now its just a matter of figuring out which script.
     
  8. SanKakU

    SanKakU

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    well no, my compiler actually isn't set up to accomodate external calls like that, afaik. so your map crashes my editor when i try to save it :/

    it's kinda funny cuz i'm pretty sure my big computer could do it. anyway...i dislike all those extra objects created, so whatever. i guess later, if i feel like it, i can double check it with my big comp's editor.
     
  9. Titanhex

    Titanhex

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,007
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Ahh thanks. By the way would having a TriggerSleepAction() inside a Init function cause any huge issues? I don't recall when I put those in, maybe somewhere close to the same time I did the system.

    I'm looking into it now, because I did that XD

    EDIT: Yup, that was the problem :X
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2010
  10. SanKakU

    SanKakU

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    ouch...which trigger was that in?
     
  11. Titanhex

    Titanhex

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,007
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    the Easymode, vampire lives, lieutenant lives, and slayer live triggers.