• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Defend - an ability overhaul v. 1.2b

Reactions: EmoBrother
Well hi,

I was always intrigued by the Defend ability and I think it has a really neat mechanic to it - the deflection part. However there is one thing I dislike on the original ability and that is the toggle aspect of it. This is why I decided to remake this ability making it a regular spell cast with a duration and a cooldown. I am by no means a WE expert so please excuse the use of "wait" function, I found no way around it. Oh yes this ability also deflects attacks of magical type which is intended, this can be changed in the object editor.

The spell itself is fairly simple and is MUI, but if anyone needs an explanation for the triggers and my reasoning behind them feel free to ask. I dont ask for approval but I could use some directions regarding solving of my "wait" problem. So some constructive feedback appreciated =D.

PS: Please dont mind the map itself, it is something I do in the free time to entertain myself :D

PPS: For fellow spell testers - the trolls are meant to attack the guards, triggering their Defend, you can try the spell at the neutral camps. Dont expect the trolls to attack your units.

HUGE EDIT: Removed the waits completely, changed variable names, added a hero leveled version of the spell. Should hopefully work (it did for me). There should be no memory leaks as no unit groups, locations or other variables for that matter were created. Feel free to point out any mistakes, I couldnt find any anymore.